Australian A-League



2004 (14 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names

Home / Soccer / Australian A-League


Upcoming Events
Melbourne City FC - Adelaide United (Sunday 21st January)
Melbourne City FC - Newcastle Jets (Thursday 25th January)
Melbourne Victory - Sydney FC (Friday 26th January)
Wellington Phoenix - Adelaide United (Saturday 27th January)
Central Coast Mariners - Brisbane Roar FC (Saturday 27th January)
Perth Glory - Western Sydney Wanderers FC (Sunday 28th January)
Sydney FC - Wellington Phoenix (Friday 02nd February)
Newcastle Jets - Melbourne Victory (Saturday 03rd February)
Adelaide United - Perth Glory (Saturday 03rd February)
Central Coast Mariners - Western Sydney Wanderers FC (Sunday 04th February)

Latest Results
Newcastle Jets 2 - 3 Wellington Phoenix (Saturday 20th January)
Sydney FC 1 - 1 Central Coast Mariners (Saturday 20th January)
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 0 - 3 Melbourne Victory (Friday 19th January)
Brisbane Roar FC 3 - 2 Perth Glory (Thursday 18th January)
Central Coast Mariners 2 - 2 Melbourne City FC (Sunday 14th January)
Adelaide United 0 - 0 Sydney FC (Sunday 14th January)
Wellington Phoenix 1 - 1 Western Sydney Wanderers FC (Saturday 13th January)
Melbourne Victory 3 - 2 Perth Glory (Saturday 13th January)
Newcastle Jets 1 - 0 Brisbane Roar FC (Friday 12th January)
Wellington Phoenix 2 - 1 Melbourne Victory (Wednesday 10th January)


The A-League is a professional men's soccer league, run by Football Federation Australia (FFA). At the top of the Australian league system, it is the country's primary competition for the sport. The A-League was established in 2004 as a successor to the National Soccer League (NSL) and competition commenced in August 2005. The league is currently contested by ten teams; nine based in Australia and one based in New Zealand. It is known as the Hyundai A-League (HAL) through a sponsorship arrangement with the Hyundai Motor Company.

Seasons run from October to May and include a 27-round regular season and an end-of-season finals series playoff tournament involving the highest-placed teams, culminating in a grand final match. The winner of the regular season tournament is dubbed 'premier' and the winner of the grand final is 'champion'. This differs from the other major football codes in Australia, where 'premier' refers to the winner of the grand final and the winner of the regular season is the 'minor premier'. The A-League's non-standard terminology is reflective of the increased prestige associated with winning the regular season in association football compared to other football codes in Australia. Successful A-League clubs gain qualification into the continental competition, the Asian Football Confederation Champions League (ACL).

Since the league's inaugural season, a total of six clubs have been crowned A-League Premiers and five clubs have been crowned A-League Champions. The current premiers and champions are Brisbane Roar, who won both titles in 2013–14.

1314 Season 1415 Season 1516 Season 1617 Season 1718 Season


Adelaide United

Brisbane Roar FC

Central Coast Ma

Melbourne City F

Melbourne Victor

Newcastle Jets

Perth Glory

Sydney FC

Wellington Phoen

Western Sydney W

Trophy Icon



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Youtube