NASCAR Sprint Cup Series



1949 (68 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names

Home / Motorsport / NASCAR Sprint Cup Series


Upcoming Events
Bojangles' Southern 500 (Sunday 03rd September)
Federated Auto Parts 400 (Saturday 09th September)
Chicagoland 400 (Sunday 17th September)
New England 300 (Sunday 24th September)
Dover 400 (Sunday 01st October)
Bank of America 500 (Saturday 07th October)
Alabama 500 (Sunday 15th October)
Hollywood Casino 400 (Sunday 22nd October)
Goody's Fast Relief 500 (Sunday 29th October)
AAA Texas 500 (Sunday 05th November)

Latest Results
Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race (Saturday 19th August)
Pure Michigan 400 (Sunday 13th August)
Watkins Glen 355 (Sunday 06th August)
Pennsylvania 400 (Sunday 30th July)
Brickyard 400 (Sunday 23rd July)
New Hampshire 301 (Sunday 16th July)
Quaker State 400 (Saturday 08th July)
Coke Zero 400 (Saturday 01st July)
Toyota/Save Mart 350 (Sunday 25th June)
FireKeepers Casino 400 (Sunday 18th June)


The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (often shortened to Sprint Cup or the Cup Series) is the top racing series of the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR). The series is named for its current sponsor, the Sprint Corporation, and has been known by other names in the past. It was originally known as the Strictly Stock Series (1949) and shortly became the Grand National Series (1950–1970). While leasing its naming rights to R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Company, it was known as the Winston Cup Series (1971–2003). A similar deal was made with NEXTEL in 2003, becoming the NEXTEL Cup Series (2004–2007) and it became the Sprint Cup after Sprint acquired NEXTEL in 2005. The name "Sprint" refers specifically to the subsidiary of Japanese telecommunications company SoftBank which is the entitlement sponsor; sprint car racing is a separate racing discipline.

The drivers' champion is determined by a point system where points are given according to finishing placement and laps led. The season is divided into two segments. After the first 26 races, 16 drivers, selected primarily on the basis of wins during the first 26 races, are seeded based on their total number of wins and compete in the last 10 races with the difference in points greatly minimized. This is called the Chase for the Championship.

The series holds strong roots in the Southeastern United States with half of its 36-race season in that region. The current schedule includes tracks from around the United States. Regular season races were previously held in Canada, and exhibition races were held in Japan and Australia. The Daytona 500, its most prestigious race, had a television audience in the U.S. of about 16 million viewers in 2009.

Sprint Cup Series cars are unique in automobile racing. The engines are powerful enough to reach speeds over 200 mph (320 km/h), but high weight – coupled with a (relatively) simple aerodynamic package – makes for poor handling. Their bodies and chassis are strictly regulated to ensure parity, and electronics are generally spartan in nature.

2009 Season 2010 Season 2011 Season 2012 Season
2013 Season 2014 Season 2015 Season 2016 Season
2017 Season

BK Racing
Chip Ganassi Racing
Front Row Motorsports
Furniture Row Racing
Germain Racing
Go FAS Racing
Hendrick Motorsports
HScott Motorsports
Jay Robinson Racing
Joe Gibbs Racing
JTG Daugherty Racing
Michael Waltrip Racing
Phil Parsons Racing
Richard Childress Racing
Richard Petty Motorsports
Roush Fenway Racing
Stewart-Haas Racing
Team Penske
The Motorsports Group
Tommy Baldwin Racing

Trophy Icon



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Youtube