Dutch Eredivisie



1956 (62 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names

Last Edit
Ovokx: 18 Aug 2018
Home / Soccer / Dutch Eredivisie


Upcoming Events
21 Sep SC Heracles  -  De Graafschap Polman Stadion @ 6:00pm
22 Sep Fortuna Sittard  -  Willem II Trendwork Arena @ 4:30pm
22 Sep Excelsior  -  SC Heerenveen Stadion Woudestein @ 5:45pm
22 Sep VVV-Venlo  -  NAC Breda De Koel @ 5:45pm
22 Sep Vitesse  -  ADO Den Haag GelreDome @ 6:45pm
23 Sep FC Emmen  -  PEC Zwolle JenS Vesting @ 12:30pm
23 Sep Feyenoord  -  FC Utrecht De Kuip @ 10:15am
23 Sep FC Groningen  -  AZ Alkmaar Euroborg @ 12:30pm
23 Sep PSV Eindhoven  -  Ajax Philips Stadion @ 2:45pm
29 Sep SC Heerenveen  -  ADO Den Haag Abe Lenstra @ 4:30pm

Latest Results
16 Sep PEC Zwolle 0 - 2  Vitesse PEC Zwolle
16 Sep NAC Breda 2 - 3  Fortuna Sittard Rat Verlegh
16 Sep FC Utrecht 1 - 2  FC Emmen Stadion Galgenwaard
16 Sep SC Heerenveen 3 - 5  SC Heracles Abe Lenstra
16 Sep AZ Alkmaar 1 - 1  Feyenoord AFAS Stadion
15 Sep Ajax 3 - 0  FC Groningen Amsterdam Arena
15 Sep Willem II 2 - 2  Excelsior Koning Willem
15 Sep ADO Den 0 - 7  PSV Eindhoven Kyocera Stadion
15 Sep De Graafschap 1 - 2  VVV-Venlo De Vijverberg
02 Sep Feyenoord 4 - 2  NAC Breda De Kuip


The Eredivisie ("Honor Division") is the highest echelon of professional football in the Netherlands. The league was founded in 1956, two years after the start of professional football in the Netherlands. At the end of the 2012–2013 season it was ranked the ninth best league in Europe by UEFA.

The top division consists of 18 clubs. Each club meets every other club twice during the season, once at home and once away. At the end of each season, the club at the bottom is automatically relegated to the second level of the Dutch league system, the Eerste Divisie (First Division). At the same time, the champion of the Eerste Divisie will be automatically promoted to the Eredivisie. The next two clubs from the bottom of the Eredivisie go to separate promotion/relegation play-offs. The play-offs are played in two groups. Each group has one Eredivisie club and three high-placed clubs from the Eerste Divisie. In both promotion/relegation play-off groups, each club plays a home-and-away series with the other clubs. The winner of each play-off group plays in the following season's Eredivisie, with the other teams going to the Eerste Divisie.

The winner of the Eredivisie claims the Dutch national championship. AFC Ajax has won most titles, 24 (33 national titles). PSV Eindhoven are next with 18 (21), and Feyenoord follow with 9. Since 1965, these three clubs have won all except for three titles (the 1981 and 2009 titles went to AZ and FC Twente won the 2010 title).

From 1990 to 1999, the official name of the league was PTT Telecompetitie (after the sponsor, PTT Telecom), which was changed to KPN Telecompetitie (because PTT Telecom changed its name to KPN Telecom in 1999) and to KPN Eredivisie in 2000. From 2002 to 2005, the league was called the Holland Casino Eredivisie. Since the 2005–06 season, the league has been sponsored by the Sponsorloterij (lottery), but for legal reasons its name could not be attached to the league (the Dutch government was against the name, because the Eredivisie would, after Holland Casino's sponsorship, yet again be sponsored by a company providing games of chance). On 8 August 2012 it was made public that the American-based Australian tycoon Rupert Murdoch had secured the rights to the Eredivisie for 12 years at the expense of 1 billion euros, beginning in the 2013/2014 season. Within this deal each Eredivisie club should receive over 4 million euros per year for the duration of the contract.

1213 Season 1314 Season 1415 Season 1516 Season 1617 Season 1718 Season 1819 Season


ADO Den Haa


AZ Alkmaar

De Graafsch


FC Emmen

FC Groninge

FC Utrecht


Fortuna Sit

NAC Breda

PEC Zwolle

PSV Eindhov

SC Heerenve

SC Heracles



Willem II

Trophy Icon



Other Links