Australian A-League



2004 (14 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names

Home / Soccer / Australian A-League


Upcoming Events
None Found...

Latest Results
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 2 - 3 Adelaide United (Sunday 15th April)
Central Coast Mariners 2 - 8 Newcastle Jets (Saturday 14th April)
Wellington Phoenix 2 - 1 Melbourne City FC (Saturday 14th April)
Perth Glory 2 - 3 Brisbane Roar FC (Saturday 14th April)
Sydney FC 1 - 0 Melbourne Victory (Friday 13th April)
Melbourne Victory 2 - 1 Wellington Phoenix (Sunday 08th April)
Sydney FC 3 - 0 Adelaide United (Sunday 08th April)
Melbourne City FC 1 - 0 Central Coast Mariners (Saturday 07th April)
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 3 - 0 Brisbane Roar FC (Saturday 07th April)
Newcastle Jets 0 - 2 Perth Glory (Friday 06th April)


The A-League is a professional men's soccer league, run by Football Federation Australia (FFA). At the top of the Australian league system, it is the country's primary competition for the sport. The A-League was established in 2004 as a successor to the National Soccer League (NSL) and competition commenced in August 2005. The league is currently contested by ten teams; nine based in Australia and one based in New Zealand. It is known as the Hyundai A-League (HAL) through a sponsorship arrangement with the Hyundai Motor Company.

Seasons run from October to May and include a 27-round regular season and an end-of-season finals series playoff tournament involving the highest-placed teams, culminating in a grand final match. The winner of the regular season tournament is dubbed 'premier' and the winner of the grand final is 'champion'. This differs from the other major football codes in Australia, where 'premier' refers to the winner of the grand final and the winner of the regular season is the 'minor premier'. The A-League's non-standard terminology is reflective of the increased prestige associated with winning the regular season in association football compared to other football codes in Australia. Successful A-League clubs gain qualification into the continental competition, the Asian Football Confederation Champions League (ACL).

Since the league's inaugural season, a total of six clubs have been crowned A-League Premiers and five clubs have been crowned A-League Champions. The current premiers and champions are Brisbane Roar, who won both titles in 2013–14.

1314 Season 1415 Season 1516 Season 1617 Season 1718 Season


Adelaide Un

Brisbane Ro

Central Coa

Melbourne C

Melbourne V

Newcastle J

Perth Glory

Sydney FC


Western Syd

Trophy Icon



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Youtube