NASCAR Sprint Cup Series



1949 (70 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names

Last Edit
smudgie: 23 Jun 2018
Home / Motorsport / NASCAR Sprint Cup Series


Upcoming Events
DAYTONA 500 (17 Feb 2019)
Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 (24 Feb 2019)
Pennzoil 400 presented by Jiffy Lube (03 Mar 2019)
TicketGuardian 500 (10 Mar 2019)
Auto Club 400 (17 Mar 2019)
STP 500 (24 Mar 2019)
O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 (31 Mar 2019)
Food City 500 (07 Apr 2019)
TOYOTA OWNERS 400 (13 Apr 2019)
GEICO 500 (28 Apr 2019)

Latest Results
Duel 1 at DAYTONA (14 Feb 2019)
Duel 2 at DAYTONA (14 Feb 2019)
Advance Auto Parts Clash (10 Feb 2019)
Ford EcoBoost 400 (18 Nov 2018)
Can-Am 500 (11 Nov 2018)
AAA Texas 500 (04 Nov 2018)
First Data 500 (28 Oct 2018)
Hollywood Casino 400 (21 Oct 2018)
Alabama 500 (14 Oct 2018)
Dover 400 (07 Oct 2018)

Available in:

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (often shortened to Sprint Cup or the Cup Series) is the top racing series of the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR). The series is named for its current sponsor, the Sprint Corporation, and has been known by other names in the past. It was originally known as the Strictly Stock Series (1949) and shortly became the Grand National Series (1950–1970). While leasing its naming rights to R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Company, it was known as the Winston Cup Series (1971–2003). A similar deal was made with NEXTEL in 2003, becoming the NEXTEL Cup Series (2004–2007) and it became the Sprint Cup after Sprint acquired NEXTEL in 2005. The name "Sprint" refers specifically to the subsidiary of Japanese telecommunications company SoftBank which is the entitlement sponsor; sprint car racing is a separate racing discipline.

The drivers' champion is determined by a point system where points are given according to finishing placement and laps led. The season is divided into two segments. After the first 26 races, 16 drivers, selected primarily on the basis of wins during the first 26 races, are seeded based on their total number of wins and compete in the last 10 races with the difference in points greatly minimized. This is called the Chase for the Championship.

The series holds strong roots in the Southeastern United States with half of its 36-race season in that region. The current schedule includes tracks from around the United States. Regular season races were previously held in Canada, and exhibition races were held in Japan and Australia. The Daytona 500, its most prestigious race, had a television audience in the U.S. of about 16 million viewers in 2009.

Sprint Cup Series cars are unique in automobile racing. The engines are powerful enough to reach speeds over 200 mph (320 km/h), but high weight – coupled with a (relatively) simple aerodynamic package – makes for poor handling. Their bodies and chassis are strictly regulated to ensure parity, and electronics are generally spartan in nature.

2009 Season 2010 Season 2011 Season 2012 Season 2013 Season 2014 Season 2015 Season 2016 Season 2017 Season 2018 Season 2019 Season


BK Racing

Chip Ganass

Front Row M

Furniture R

Germain Rac

Go FAS Raci

Hendrick Mo

Jay Robinso

Joe Gibbs R

JTG Daugher

Richard Chi

Richard Pet

Roush Fenwa


Team Penske

The Motorsp

() Missing Artwork
(- 4) Missing 4 Players: Data and Artwork
() Team Complete

Trophy Icon



Other Links