KPMG Womens PGA Championship LPGA Tour 2021 0 2021-06-27 2021-06-27 The Women's PGA Championship is a women's professional golf tournament. First held in 1955, it is one of five majors on the LPGA Tour. It is not recognized as a major by the Ladies European Tour, which does not recognize any of the three majors played in the United States. Formerly known as the LPGA Championship, the LPGA announced in 2014 that the PGA of America would become a partner of the event, and that it would be renamed the Women's PGA Championship beginning in 2015—becoming a sister event to the men's PGA Championship (in a similar manner to the U.S. Women's Open being a sister event to the men's U.S. Open). The partnership included a new title sponsorship agreement with KPMG, an increase in purse, and a commitment by NBC to provide network television coverage of the weekend rounds. The event takes place Jun 17-20 and has a prize fund of $4,300,000. America's Nelly Korda landed the first major of her career and moved to world number one with a three-shot win at the Women's PGA Championship in Atlanta. 1083955