AIG Women’s Open LPGA Tour 2021 0 2021-08-22 2021-08-22 The Women's British Open is a major championship in women's professional golf. It is recognised by both the LPGA Tour and the Ladies European Tour as a major. Since becoming an LPGA major in 2001 it has generally been played in late July or early August. The 2012 edition was scheduled for mid-September, due to the 2012 Summer Olympics in London, while the 2014 event was played in mid-July, the week prior to the Open Championship. In 2019 it was known as the AIG Women's British Open. From 2007 to 2018, it was called the Ricoh Women's British Open while the previous twenty editions (1987–2006) were sponsored by Weetabix, a breakfast cereal. In July 2020, the sponsorship agreement with AIG was extended through to 2025; as part of the deal the championship was rebranded, removing the word "British", as the AIG Women's Open The event takes place Aug 19-22 and has a prize fund of $4,500,000. 1083960