South African Open Round 3 European Tour 2020 4 2020-01-11 2020-01-11 The South African Open Championship is one of the oldest national open golf championships in the world, and is one of the principal tournaments on the Sunshine Tour. Since 1997 it has also been co-sanctioned by the European Tour. The first formal event was organised in 1903, following a series of exhibition matches that had been held over the preceding ten years. The championship was initially contested over just 36 holes until 1908, when it was extended to become a 72-hole tournament. Since 2011 it has been held in the Johannesburg area. In 2011 and 2012 it was hosted by Serengeti Golf Club, while since 2013 it has been held at Glendower Golf Club. Gary Player has been the most successful player in the tournament's history, with 13 victories over four decades between 1956 and 1981. Bobby Locke won nine titles, Sid Brews won eight titles, and George Fotheringham won the event five times. 673208