NK Maribor


User Rating

(0 users)

Next Event

1960 (58 years old)



Ljudski vrt
(12,702 Capacity)

Jersey Clearart



_No League

Home / Soccer / _No League / NK Maribor

Upcoming Events
None Found...

Latest Results
None Found...


Nogometni klub Maribor (English: Maribor Football Club), commonly referred to as NK Maribor or simply Maribor, is a professional football club based in Maribor, Slovenia. Founded on 12 December 1960, Maribor is one of only three football clubs in the country who have never been relegated from the Slovenian top flight since the league's establishment in 1991. They are regarded as a symbol of Slovenian football, particularly in their home region of Styria in northeastern Slovenia.

Maribor is the most successful club in the country, having won 14 Slovenian PrvaLiga titles, nine Slovenian Cups, and four Slovenian Supercups. The club's most successful period was in the late 1990s and early 2000s, when they overwhelmingly dominated domestic football, winning seven successive league titles and three national cups. Following the 2008–09 season, Maribor became the dominant force in Slovenian football for the second time, having won seven out of nine championships since then. Prior to Slovenia's independence in 1991, Maribor played in the Yugoslav football system, where the club, apart from winning the Yugoslav second division in 1967, had no major successes. They are one of only three Slovenian teams which participated in the country's highest division, Yugoslav First League, between the end of World War II in 1945 and the breakup of Yugoslavia in 1991. In addition, they are the only Slovenian club to have participated in the group stages of the UEFA Champions League.

The club holds a long-standing rivalry with Olimpija from the capital Ljubljana, with whom they contest the Eternal derby (Večni derbi). Maribor also have a loyal and passionate fan base and has the highest average all-time attendance in Slovenia.

The club's home ground is the Ljudski vrt stadium, which has a capacity of 12,702 seats. It was originally built in 1952 and later underwent a series of major reconstructions in the 1990s and 2000s. Maribor's nicknames are The Purples (Vijoličasti) and The Violets (Vijolice), both referring to their primary colour purple.

Team Members
none found...

Stadium or Home



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Instagram Youtube