User Rating

(0 users)

Next Event
Barrow vs Swindon (11 Dec)

Head Coach

Ben Garner

Recent Form ➡
  W      D      L      W      L    

1879 (142 years old)


The County Ground
(15,728 Capacity)

Jersey or Equipment Clearart

Swindon, Wiltshire

The Robins, STFC

English League 2

Last Edit
smudgie: 01/Oct/21
Home / Sport / Soccer / English League 2 / Swindon (year 2003)

Upcoming Events
11 Dec 21 Barrow   -  Swindon
18 Dec 21 Swindon   -  Walsall
26 Dec 21 Exeter   -  Swindon
29 Dec 21 Swindon   -  Stevenage
01 Jan 22 Swindon   -  Northampton

Latest Results
07 Dec 21 Leyton Orient  4 - 1  Swindon
04 Dec 21 Walsall  1 - 2  Swindon
30 Nov 21 Swindon  1 - 2  Colchester
27 Nov 21 Swindon  1 - 1  Harrogate Town
23 Nov 21 Swindon  3 - 1  Hartlepool

Available in:

Swindon Town Football Club is a professional football club based in Swindon, Wiltshire, England. The team currently competes in League One, the third tier of the English football league system. They will be relegated to League Two for the 2021-22 season after finishing 23rd in the 2020-21 campaign. The club has played home matches at the County Ground since 1896, which now boasts a capacity of 15,728. Known as the "Robins", their home colours are red and white. Hall of Fame inductee John Trollope played 770 league games for the club between 1960 and 1980, a professional record in English football.

Founded as Swindon AFC in 1879, they became Spartans the next year, before finally settling on the name Swindon Town in 1883. The club turned professional in 1894 as a founding member of the Southern League, later also entering the Western League between 1897 and 1902. They were crowned Western League champions in 1898–99 and Southern League champions in 1910–11 and 1913–14, before they were elected into the Football League in 1920. They remained in the third tier for 43 years, finally securing promotion into the Second Division in 1962–63, where they remained for just two seasons. They lifted the League Cup after beating Arsenal in the 1969 final, and went on to secure promotion at the end of the 1968–69 season with the help of talismanic winger Don Rogers. Relegated again in 1973–74, they dropped into the fourth tier for the first time at the end of the 1981–82 season.

Swindon won the Fourth Division title in 1985–86 and secured a second successive promotion the following season under the stewardship of Lou Macari. They went on to claim victory in the 1990 Second Division play-off final, but were denied promotion into the top-flight after admitting to breaching Football League regulations. Glenn Hoddle coached the team to victory in the 1993 play-off final to finally secure a place in the top-flight for the first time in the club's history. However they were relegated out of the Premier League at the end of the 1993–94 season and dropped into the third tier with a second consecutive relegation. Promoted again as champions to avoid an FA expulsion and a hat-trick of relegations in 1995–96, they remained in the second tier for four seasons until relegation in 2000. They dropped into League Two in 2006, though managed to secure promotion the next season; they repeated this feat following relegation in 2011, winning the League Two title in 2011–12 to earn promotion to League One. They repeated the feat from the 1981–82 season by following relegation back to League Two at the end of the 2016–17 season. They won their third League Two title in the COVID-19 pandemic-stricken 2019–20 season.

Team Members
View: Thumbs Cutouts RendersSort: Positions Names Numbers







= Contract years remaining

Stadium or Home

The County Ground is a stadium located near the town centre of Swindon, England, and has been home to Swindon Town Football Club since 1896. The current capacity of 15,728, all-seated, has been at that level since the mid-1990s. A record attendance of 32,000 was set on 15 January 1972, against Arsenal in the 3rd round of the FA Cup. North of the football stadium is Swindon Cricket Club, with their pitch is also named The County Ground which was used for the football club from 1893 till 1896.



Other Links