Australian National Rugby League



1997 (20 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names

Home / Rugby / Australian National Rugby League


Upcoming Events
None Found...

Latest Results
New South Wales Blues 18 - 14 Queensland Maroons (Wednesday 13th July)
Queensland Maroons 26 - 16 New South Wales Blues (Wednesday 22nd June)
New South Wales Blues 4 - 6 Queensland Maroons (Wednesday 01st June)
North Queensland Cowboys 0 - 0 Gold Coast Titans (Sunday 06th September)
Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs 0 - 0 New Zealand Warriors (Sunday 06th September)
Parramatta Eels 0 - 0 Canberra Raiders (Sunday 06th September)
Cronulla Sharks 0 - 0 Manly Sea Eagles (Sunday 06th September)
Sydney Roosters 0 - 0 South Sydney Rabbitohs (Sunday 06th September)
St. George Illawara Dragons 0 - 0 Wests Tigers (Sunday 06th September)
Penrith Panthers 0 - 0 Newcastle Knights (Sunday 06th September)


The National Rugby League (NRL) is the top league of professional rugby league football clubs in Australasia. Run by the Australian Rugby League Commission, the NRL's main competition is known as the Telstra Premiership due to sponsorship from Telstra Corporation and is contested by sixteen teams, fifteen of which are based in Australia with one based in New Zealand. It is regarded as the world's elite rugby league championship and, per season, is the most viewed and attended rugby football club competition in the world.

The National Rugby League is Australia's top-level domestic rugby-league club competition. It grew out of Sydney's local club competition, which has been running continuously since 1908. The NRL formed in the aftermath of the 1990s' Super League war as a joint partnership between the sport's already-existing national governing body, the Australian Rugby League (ARL) and media giant News Corporation-controlled Super League, after both organisations ran premierships parallel to each other in 1997. This partnership was dissolved in February 2012, with control of the NRL going to the independently formed Australian Rugby League Commission.

NRL matches are played in Australia and New Zealand from autumn until spring. The season culminates in the premiership-deciding game, the NRL Grand Final, traditionally one of Australia's most popular sporting events and one of the world's largest attended sporting championship games. In addition, the NRL premiers also play in the World Club Challenge, a pre-season match against the champions of the European Super League competition. The reigning premiers are the South Sydney Rabbitohs.

2015 Season 2016 Season


Brisbane Broncos

Canberra Raiders

Canterbury Banks

Cronulla Sharks

Gold Coast Titan

Manly Sea Eagles

Melbourne Storm

New South Wales

New Zealand Warr

Newcastle Knight

North Queensland

Parramatta Eels

Penrith Panthers

Queensland Maroo

South Sydney Rab

St. George Illaw

Sydney Roosters

Wests Tigers

Trophy Icon



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Youtube