Ath Bilbao


User Rating

(0 users)

Next Event
Getafe vs Ath Bilbao (19 Jan)

1898 (120 years old)


José Ángel Ziganda

San Mamés
(53,289 Capacity)

Jersey Clearart

Bilbao, Vizcaya


Spanish La Liga

Home / Soccer / Spanish La Liga / Ath Bilbao

Upcoming Events
19 Jan Getafe - Ath Bilbao Coliseum Alfonso Pérez
26 Jan Ath Bilbao - Eibar San Mamés
04 Feb Girona - Ath Bilbao Montilivi
11 Feb Ath Bilbao - Las Palmas San Mamés
18 Feb Ath Madrid - Ath Bilbao Wanda Metropolitano

Latest Results
14 Jan Espanol 1 - 1 Ath Bilbao Power8 Stadium
07 Jan Ath Bilbao 2 - 0 Alaves San Mamés
22 Dec Betis 0 - 2 Ath Bilbao Benito Villamarín
16 Dec Ath Bilbao 0 - 0 Sociedad San Mamés
10 Dec Levante 1 - 2 Ath Bilbao Ciutat de València


Athletic Club (Basque: Athletic Kluba), also commonly known as Athletic Bilbao (Basque: Bilboko Athletic Kluba / Spanish: Athletic de Bilbao), is a professional football club, based in Bilbao, Basque Country, Spain.

They are known as Los Leones (The Lions) because their stadium was built near a church called San Mamés (Saint Mammes). Mammes was a semi-legendary early Christian thrown to the lions by the Romans. Mammes pacified the lions and was later made a saint.

The club is one of three founding members of the Primera División that have never been relegated from the top division, the others being Real Madrid and Barcelona. Athletic have won La Liga on eight occasions, fourth most in the history of the league. In the table of Copa del Rey titles, Athletic is second only to Barcelona, having won it 24 times (per the team's official records; the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) recognizes 23 victories). The club also has one of the most successful women's teams in Spain, which has won five championships in the Primera División Femenina.

The club is known for its cantera policy of bringing young Basque players through the ranks, as well as recruiting top Basque players from other clubs (like Joseba Etxeberria and Javi Martínez). Athletic's official policy is signing professional players native to or trained in football in the greater Basque Country, including Biscay, Gipuzkoa, Álava and Navarre (in Spain); and Labourd, Soule and Lower Navarre (in France). Since its foundation, Athletic has played exclusively with players meeting the criteria to be deemed as Basque players, and has been one of the most successful teams of La Liga. This can be seen as a unique case in European football; it has gained Athletic both admirers and critics. The club has been praised for promoting home grown players and club loyalty. Athletic is one of only three professional clubs in Spain in La Liga (the others being Real Madrid, and Barcelona) that is not a sports corporation; it is owned and operated by its club members.

Athletic's main rivals are Real Sociedad, against whom it plays the Basque derby, and Real Madrid, due to sport and political rivalry.

Team Members




Aritz Aduriz

Ager Aketxe

Mikel Balenziag

Eneko Boveda

Iñigo Córdoba

Xabier Etxeita

Raúl García

Iago Herrerin

Ander Iturraspe

Mikel San Jose

Aymeric Laporte

Iñigo Lekue

Oscar De Marcos

Sabin Merino

Iker Muniain

Unai Núñez

Mikel Rico

Enric Saborit

Enrique Sola

Markel Susaeta

Mikel Vesga

Iñaki Williams

Stadium or Home

San Mamés (also known as Nuevo San Mamés or San Mames Barria) is an all-seater football stadium in Bilbao, Basque Country, Spain. Inaugurated on 16 September 2013, the stadium replaced the "old" San Mamés as the home of Athletic Bilbao.



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Instagram Youtube