Arizona Cardinals


User Rating

(0 users)

Next Event

1898 (119 years old)

American Football

Bruce Arians

University of Phoenix Stadium
(63,400 Capacity)

Jersey Clearart

Glendale, Arizona, USA



Home / American Football / NFL / Arizona Cardinals

Upcoming Events
None Found...

Latest Results
05 Nov San Francisco - Arizona Cardinals Levi's Stadium
22 Oct Los Angeles 33 - 0 Arizona Cardinals Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum
17 Sep Indianapolis Colts 13 - 16 Arizona Cardinals Lucas Oil Stadium
10 Sep Detroit Lions 35 - 23 Arizona Cardinals Ford Field
24 Dec Seattle Seahawks 31 - 34 Arizona Cardinals CenturyLink Field


The Arizona Cardinals are a professional American football team based in Glendale, Arizona. They currently are members of the West division of the National Football Conference (NFC) in the National Football League (NFL). The Cardinals were founded in 1898, and are the oldest continuously run professional sports team in the United States outside of baseball.

The team was established in Chicago in 1898 and was a charter member of the NFL in 1920. Along with the Chicago Bears, the club is one of two NFL charter member franchises still in operation since the league's founding. (The Green Bay Packers were an independent team until they joined the NFL in 1921). The club then moved to St. Louis, Missouri in 1960 and played in that city through 1987 (sometimes referred to as the "Football Cardinals" and/or the "Big Red" to avoid confusion with the Major League Baseball St. Louis Cardinals). Other less commonly used nicknames were the "Gridbirds" (used only by a local newspaper columnist) or "Cardiac Cards" (used only to refer to the 1975 team). Before the 1988 NFL season, the team moved to Tempe, Arizona, a college suburb east of Phoenix, and played their home games for the next 18 years at Arizona State University's Sun Devil Stadium. In 2006, the club began playing all home games at the newly constructed University of Phoenix Stadium in the northwestern suburb of Glendale, although the team's training facility is in Tempe.

The franchise has two NFL championships, both while it was based in Chicago. The first occurred in 1925, but is the subject of controversy, with supporters of the Pottsville Maroons believing that Pottsville should have gotten the title. Their second title, and the first to be received through a championship game, came in 1947, two decades before the first Super Bowl game was played.

In the six-plus decades since winning the championship in 1947, the team suffered many losing seasons, and currently hold the league's longest active championship drought. They have been to the playoffs six times and have won six playoff games, three of which were victories during their run in the 2008–09 NFL Playoffs. During that season, they won their only NFC Championship Game since the 1970 AFL-NFL Merger, and reached Super Bowl XLIII. The team has also won four division titles (1974, 1975, 2008, and 2009) since their 1947–1948 NFL championship game appearances.

In 2012 the Cardinals became the first NFL franchise to lose 700 games since its inception. The franchise's all-time mark at the conclusion of the 2013 season is 511–716–39.

From 1988 through 2012 (except 2005, when they trained in Prescott), the Cardinals conducted their annual summer training camp at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff. The Cardinals moved their training camp to University of Phoenix Stadium in 2013.

Team Members
Justin Brown
Tim Brown
Jaron Brown
John Brown
Dan Buckner
Michael Bush
John Carlson
Chandler Catan
Thomas Clayton
Jared Crank
Brodie Croyle
Gino Crump
Daiveun Curry-
Jarett Dillard
Aaron Dobson
Reggie Dunn
Jonathan Dwyer
Nicholas Edwar
Andre Ellingto
Darren Fells
Larry Fitzgera
Michael Floyd
Michael Ray Ga
Robert Gill
Brittan Golden
Alex Gottlieb
Tre Gray
Justin Green
Max Hall
Andre Hardy
Brandyn Harvey
Todd Heap
Rob Housler
Robert Hughes
Javarris James
Sean Jeffcoat
Jaymar Johnson
Jerome Johnson
David Johnson
Michael Jones
Ted Ginn Jr.
Jeff King
Dan Kreider
Javone Lawson
Mike Leach
Ryan Lindley
Reagan Maui\'a
Rashard Menden
Shane Morales
Darren Mougey
Aaron Nichols
Troy Niklas
Kevin Ozier
Carson Palmer
Jalen Parmele
Ben Patrick
Kelsey Pope
William Powell
Michael Rios
Steve Sanders
Alex Shor
Steve Skelton
Kory Sperry
Drew Stanton
Chansi Stuckey
Ryan Swope
Chester Taylor
Stepfan Taylor
Caleb TerBush
Damien Thigpen
Logan Thomas
Robby Toma
Jerame Tuman
Chris Vincent
Kurt Warner
Beanie Wells
Teddy Williams
Kerwynn Willia
Jason Wright

Stadium or Home

University of Phoenix Stadium, opened August 1, 2006, is a multipurpose football stadium located in Glendale, Arizona, west of Phoenix. It is the home of the Arizona Cardinals of the National Football League (NFL) and the annual Fiesta Bowl, and replaced Tempe's Sun Devil Stadium as the Valley of the Sun's main outdoor stadium. The stadium is adjacent to the Gila River Arena and it features the first fully retractable natural grass playing surface built in the United States on top of an AirField Systems drainage system. An opening on one side of the stadium allows the playing field to move to the exterior of the building, allowing the entire natural turf playing surface to be exposed to daylight and also allowing the floor of the stadium to be used for any other purpose (such as seating for concerts) without damaging the turf.

The stadium has hosted the Fiesta Bowl, the 2007 BCS National Championship Game, Super Bowl XLII, and the 2011 BCS National Championship Game, a game that it hosted every four years, which set the venue's entertainment attendance record of 78,603 on January 11, 2011. It will host the Pro Bowl, Super Bowl XLIX and CONCACAF Gold Cup matches in 2015, and the NCAA Final Four in 2017.

The University of Phoenix acquired the naming rights in September 2006, shortly after the stadium had opened under the name Cardinals Stadium. The "University of Phoenix" name is applied as a corporate sponsor, and not as the home stadium of the University, which has no intercollegiate athletics program.



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Youtube