1897 (120 years old)

First Recorded Event

Australian football



Alternate Names
Australian rules football

Home / Australian football / AFL


Upcoming Events
Richmond Football Club - St Kilda Football Club (Sunday 27th August)

Latest Results
Fremantle Football Club - Richmond Football Club (Sunday 20th August)
Geelong Football Club - Richmond Football Club (Saturday 12th August)
Richmond Football Club - Hawthorn Football Club (Sunday 06th August)
Richmond Football Club - Greater Western Sydney Giants (Sunday 23rd July)
Gold Coast Football Club - Richmond Football Club (Sunday 23rd July)
Richmond Football Club - Brisbane Lions (Sunday 16th July)
St Kilda Football Club - Richmond Football Club (Saturday 08th July)
Port Adelaide Football Club - Richmond Football Club (Saturday 01st July)
Richmond Football Club - Carlton Football Club (Sunday 25th June)
Richmond Football Club 71 - 80 Sydney Swans (Tuesday 13th June)


The Australian Football League (AFL) is the pre-eminent professional competition in the sport of Australian rules football. Through the AFL Commission, the AFL also serves as the sport's governing body, and is responsible for controlling the laws of the game. The league was founded as the Victorian Football League (VFL) as a breakaway from the previous Victorian Football Association (VFA), with its inaugural season commencing in 1897. Originally comprising only teams based in the Australian state of Victoria, the competition's name was changed to the Australian Football League for the 1990 season, after expanding to other states throughout the 1980s.

The league currently consists of 18 teams spread over five of Australia's six states (Tasmania being the exception). Matches have been played in all mainland states and territories of Australia, as well as in New Zealand. The AFL season currently consists of a pre-season competition (currently branded as the "NAB Challenge"), followed by a 23-round regular (or "home-and-away") season, which runs during the Australian winter (March to September). The top eight teams then play off in a four-round finals series, culminating in the AFL Grand Final, which is held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground each year. The winning team in the Grand Final is termed the "premiers", and is awarded the premiership cup. The current premiers are the Western Bulldogs.

1998 Season 2015 Season 2016 Season 2017 Season

Adelaide Football Club
Brisbane Lions
Carlton Football Club
Collingwood Football Club
Essendon Football Club
Fremantle Football Club
Geelong Football Club
Gold Coast Football
Greater Western Sydney
Hawthorn Football Club
Melbourne Football Club
North Melbourne Football
Port Adelaide Football
Richmond Football Club
St Kilda Football
Sydney Swans
West Coast Eagles
Western Bulldogs

Trophy Icon



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Youtube