1946 (73 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names
National Basketball Association

Last Edit
Ovokx: 14 Jun 2019
Home / Basketball / NBA


Upcoming Events
17 Oct 19 Charlotte Hornets  -  Detroit Pistons
17 Oct 19 New York Knicks  -  Atlanta Hawks
17 Oct 19 Oklahoma City Thu  -  Memphis Grizzlies
17 Oct 19 Houston Rockets  -  San Antonio Spurs
17 Oct 19 Utah Jazz  -  Portland Trail Bl
17 Oct 19 Los Angeles Laker  -  Golden State Warr
23 Oct 19 Toronto Raptors  -  New Orleans Pelic
23 Oct 19 Los Angeles Clipp  -  Los Angeles Laker
24 Oct 19 Charlotte Hornets  -  Chicago Bulls
24 Oct 19 Indiana Pacers  -  Detroit Pistons

Latest Results
16 Oct 19 Philadelphia 76er 106 - 86  Detroit Pistons
16 Oct 19 Cleveland Cavalie 95 - 118  Boston Celtics
16 Oct 19 Indiana Pacers 111 - 119  Minnesota Timberw
15 Oct 19 Los Angeles Laker 104 - 98  Golden State Warr
15 Oct 19 Phoenix Suns 102 - 107  Denver Nuggets
15 Oct 19 Utah Jazz 115 - 128  Sacramento Kings
15 Oct 19 Dallas Mavericks 107 - 70  Oklahoma City Thu
15 Oct 19 Memphis Grizzlies 99 - 120  Charlotte Hornets
15 Oct 19 Miami Heat 120 - 87  Atlanta Hawks
13 Oct 19 Orlando Magic 94 - 126  Philadelphia 76er

Available in:

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is the pre-eminent men's professional basketball league in North America, and is widely considered to be the premier men's professional basketball league in the world. It has 30 franchised member clubs (29 in the United States and 1 in Canada), and is an active member of USA Basketball (USAB), which is recognized by FIBA (also known as the International Basketball Federation) as the national governing body for basketball in the United States. The NBA is one of the four major North American professional sports leagues. NBA players are the world's best paid sportsmen, by average annual salary per player.

The league was founded in New York City on June 6, 1946, as the Basketball Association of America (BAA). The league adopted the name National Basketball Association on August 3, 1949, after merging with its rival National Basketball League (NBL). The league's several international as well as individual team offices are directed out of its head offices located in the Olympic Tower at 645 Fifth Avenue in New York City. NBA Entertainment and NBA TV studios are directed out of offices located in Secaucus, New Jersey.

The Basketball Association of America was founded in 1946 by owners of the major ice hockey arenas in the Northeastern and Midwestern United States and Canada. On November 1, 1946, in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, the Toronto Huskies hosted the New York Knickerbockers at Maple Leaf Gardens, in a game the NBA now regards as the first played in its history. The first basket was made by Ossie Schectman of the Knickerbockers. Although there had been earlier attempts at professional basketball leagues, including the American Basketball League and the NBL, the BAA was the first league to attempt to play primarily in large arenas in major cities. During its early years, the quality of play in the BAA was not significantly better than in competing leagues or among leading independent clubs such as the Harlem Globetrotters. For instance, the 1948 ABL finalist Baltimore Bullets moved to the BAA and won that league's 1948 title, and the 1948 NBL champion Minneapolis Lakers won the 1949 BAA title. Prior to the 1948-49 season, however, NBL teams from Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, Minneapolis, and Rochester jumped to the BAA, which established the BAA as the league of choice for collegians looking to turn professional.

The headquarters of the National Basketball Association in the Olympic Tower at 645 Fifth Avenue, Midtown Manhattan, New York City, USA.
Following the 1948-49 season, the BAA took in the remainder of the NBL: Syracuse, Anderson, Tri-Cities, Sheboygan, Denver, and Waterloo. In deference to the merger and to avoid possible legal complications, the league name was changed from the BAA to the National Basketball Association in spite of having the same BAA governing body including Podoloff. The new league had seventeen franchises located in a mix of large and small cities, as well as large arenas and smaller gymnasiums and armories. In 1950, the NBA consolidated to eleven franchises, a process that continued until 1953–54, when the league reached its smallest size of eight franchises, all of which are still in the league (the New York Knicks, Boston Celtics, Golden State Warriors, Los Angeles Lakers, Royals/Kings, Detroit Pistons, Atlanta Hawks, and Nationals/76ers). The process of contraction saw the league's smaller-city franchises move to larger cities. The Hawks shifted from 'Tri-Cities' (the area now known as the Quad Cities) to Milwaukee (in 1951) and then to St. Louis, Missouri (in 1955); the Royals from Rochester, New York to Cincinnati (in 1957); and the Pistons from Fort Wayne, Indiana to Detroit (in 1957).

Japanese-American Wataru Misaka broke the NBA color barrier in the 1947–48 season when he played for the New York Knicks. He remained the only non-white player in league history prior to the first African-American, Harold Hunter, signing with the Washington Capitols in 1950. Hunter was cut from the team during training camp, but several African-American players did play in the league later that year, including Chuck Cooper with the Celtics, Nathaniel 'Sweetwater' Clifton with the Knicks, and Earl Lloyd with the Washington Capitols. During this period, the Minneapolis Lakers, led by center George Mikan, won five NBA Championships and established themselves as the league's first dynasty. To encourage shooting and discourage stalling, the league introduced the 24-second shot clock in 1954. If a team does not attempt to score a field goal (or the ball fails to make contact with the rim) within 24 seconds of obtaining the ball, play is stopped and the ball given to its opponent.


0708 Season

0809 Season

0910 Season

1011 Season

1112 Season

1213 Season

1314 Season

1415 Season

1516 Season

1617 Season

1718 Season

1819 Season

1920 Season


Atlanta Hawks

Boston Celtics

Brooklyn Nets

Charlotte Hornets

Chicago Bulls

Cleveland Cavalie

Dallas Mavericks

Denver Nuggets

Detroit Pistons

Golden State Warr

Houston Rockets

Indiana Pacers

Los Angeles Clipp

Los Angeles Laker

Memphis Grizzlies

Miami Heat

Milwaukee Bucks

Minnesota Timberw

New Orleans Pelic

New York Knicks

Oklahoma City Thu

Orlando Magic

Philadelphia 76er

Phoenix Suns

Portland Trail Bl

Sacramento Kings

San Antonio Spurs

Toronto Raptors

Utah Jazz

Washington Wizard

() Missing Artwork
(- 4) Missing 4 Players: Data and Artwork
() Team Complete

Trophy Icon



Other Links