Fortuna Düsseldorf


User Rating

(0 users)

Next Event
Fortuna Düsseldorf vs M'gladbach (30 Mar)

Head Coach
None Found...
Add new Player with 'Manager' position

Recent Form
  L      W      W      L      L    

1895 (124 years old)


Esprit Arena
(54,600 Capacity)

Jersey Clearart

Düsseldorf, Germany


German Bundesliga

Last Edit
zag: 09/Feb/19
Home / Soccer / German Bundesliga / Fortuna Düsseldorf

Upcoming Events
30 Mar 19 Fortuna Düsseldorf   -  M'gladbach
06 Apr 19 Hertha   -  Fortuna Düsseldorf
14 Apr 19 Fortuna Düsseldorf   -  Bayern Munich
20 Apr 19 Mainz   -  Fortuna Düsseldorf
27 Apr 19 Fortuna Düsseldorf   -  Werder Bremen

Latest Results
16 Mar 19 Wolfsburg  5 - 2  Fortuna Düsseldorf
11 Mar 19 Fortuna Düsseldorf  0 - 3  Ein Frankfurt
02 Mar 19 Schalke 04  0 - 4  Fortuna Düsseldorf
23 Feb 19 Fortuna Düsseldorf  2 - 1  Nurnberg
17 Feb 19 Leverkusen  2 - 0  Fortuna Düsseldorf

Available in:

Düsseldorfer Turn- und Sportverein Fortuna 1895 e.V. ( listen) is a German association football club based in Düsseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia. The club currently plays in the 2. Bundesliga, the second tier of the German football league system. Founded in 1895, it entered the league in 1913 and were a fixture in top-flight play from the early 1920s up to the foundation of the nationwide Bundesliga in 1963 in which they participated in 23 seasons between 1966 and 2013.

The earliest roots of the association go back to the establishment of the gymnastics club Turnverein Flingern on 5 May 1895 in the village of Flingern, today one of the eastern quarters of Düsseldorf. Two other sides figure in the club's early history: Düsseldorfer Fußballklub Spielverein, founded in 1908, and FK Alemania 1911, which was founded in 1911 and became Fortuna 1911 the following year. In mid-1913, these two clubs merged to form Düsseldorfer Fußball-Club Fortuna 1911 which played its debut season in the Westdeutschen Spielverband in 1913–14. TV Flingern joined Fortuna to create Düsseldorfer Turn- und Sportverein Fortuna on 15 November 1919.

In the late 1920s, Fortuna won its first honours as a first tier side; it captured a district level Bezirksliga title in 1927, sent its first representative to the Germany national team in 1928 (Ernst Albrecht), and took a second Bezirksliga title in 1929. The team continued to perform well into the 1930s, winning its third and fourth district titles en route to a Western German football championship in 1931 and its greatest success, a German football championship in 1933 against Schalke 04, which was on the verge of becoming the era's dominant side in Germany. Fortuna was the first team to win the title without conceding a goal in the final rounds of the tournament. It beat Vorwärts-Rasensport Gleiwitz (9–0), Arminia Hannover (3–0), Eintracht Frankfurt (4–0) and finally Schalke 04 (3–0) en route to becoming the first national champion from the industrial Rhine-Ruhr area.

In the following season, the club began playing in Gauliga Niederrhein, 1 of 16 top-flight divisions formed in the re-organization of German football under the Third Reich. Düsseldorf dominated the division through the 1930s as five-time champions between 1936 and 1940, and made losing appearances in the national championship final in 1936 (1–2 to 1. FC Nürnberg) and the final of the Tschammerpokal, the predecessor of today's DFB-Pokal, in 1937 (1–2 against Schalke 04). The club was relegated in 1942 but made a prompt return to the top flight the following season. In 1944–45, it began play as the combined wartime side Kriegsspielgemeinschaft TSV Fortuna/SC 99 Düsseldorf with partner Düsseldorfer Sport Club 1899, but took part in only two matches as Nazi Germany fell before the advance of Allied armies.

The most notable players of that era were Paul Janes, Germany's most capped player from 1942 to 1970 (71 caps), German team captain (1939–1942) and member of the Breslau Eleven that beat Denmark 8–0 in Breslau in 1937 and went on to win 10 of 11 games played during that year; Stanislaus Kobierski, who earned 26 caps and scored Germany's first ever FIFA World Cup goal; Ernst Albrecht; and Jakob Bender.

Team Members

Kaan Ayhan

Diego Contento

Marvin Ducksch

Oliver Fink

Niko Giebelmann

Rouwen Hennings

Andre Hoffmann

Kenan Karaman

Alfredo Morales

Benito Raman

Michael Rensing

Marcel Sobottka

Kevin Stoger

Markus Suttner

Ozkan Yildirim

= Contract years remaining

Stadium or Home

Esprit Arena (stylized as ESPRIT arena), known previously as the "LTU Arena" (until June 2009), and as the "Düsseldorf Arena" (during the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest), is a multi-functional football stadium in Düsseldorf, Germany. The stadium holds 54,600 and has a closable roof. Its special heating system allows the stadium to host comfortable events at the height of winter.

Construction of the stadium began in 2002 and was completed in 2004. It was built to replace the former Rheinstadion at the same site near the river Rhine. The structure's initial seating capacity of 51,500 was expanded in summer 2010 when some seating areas were converted into standing terraces. The arena currently hosts association football team Fortuna Düsseldorf (currently in the second division, the 2. Bundesliga).



Other Links