User Rating

(1 users)

Next Event
Boavista vs Belenenses (31 Mar)

Head Coach
None Found...
Add new Player with 'Manager' position

Recent Form
  D      W      L      L      L    

1903 (116 years old)


Estádio do Bessa
(28,263 Capacity)

Jersey Clearart



Portuguese Primeira Liga

Last Edit
zag: 16/Apr/18
Home / Soccer / Portuguese Primeira Liga / Boavista

Upcoming Events
31 Mar 19 Boavista   -  Belenenses
07 Apr 19 FC Porto   -  Boavista
14 Apr 19 Boavista   -  CD Nacional
20 Apr 19 Tondela   -  Boavista
28 Apr 19 Boavista   -  Moreirense

Latest Results
16 Mar 19 Guimaraes  3 - 1  Boavista
09 Mar 19 Boavista  1 - 2  Sporting Lisbon
01 Mar 19 Aves  2 - 0  Boavista
24 Feb 19 Boavista  1 - 0  Rio Ave
17 Feb 19 Chaves  1 - 1  Boavista

Available in:

Boavista Futebol Clube, commonly known as Boavista (Portuguese pronunciation: ), is a Portuguese sports club from the city of Porto. Founded on 1 August 1903, it is one of the oldest clubs in the country and plays in the Primeira Liga.
It grew to become Porto's second greatest club – behind Porto — with sections dedicated to several sports including football, chess, gymnastics, bicycle racing and futsal, among others, the most notable being the football section with their trademark chequered white and black shirts. One of the most prominent clubs in Portuguese football, with 9 main national titles won (1 Championship, 5 Cups of Portugal, 3 Supercups of Portugal, all during the Loureiro's family years) Boavista spent 39 consecutive seasons in the Primeira Liga (50 in total), winning in 2001, being together with Belenenses, the only team outside the big three to win the Portuguese Championship. It is also the most successful Portuguese club after the big three, in national and international competitions. Its stadium, Estádio do Bessa, was built in 1973, although football has been played there at the former 'Campo do Bessa' since the 1910s, and was revamped for use in Euro 2004.

Team Members

Iván Bulos

Ricardo Clarke

Fábio Espinho

Assis Giovanaz

Nuno Henrique

Edu Machado

Renato Santos

David Simao

Stephane Sparagna

Raphael Spiegel

Aymen Tahar

= Contract years remaining

Stadium or Home

Like other stadiums used in Euro 2004, the Bessa is a new ground, but built on top of the old stands, and each one of them was built at a time, which allowed Boavista to continue playing there. The former 'Campo do Bessa' existed on the same place as the new stadium since 1911. It cost €45,164,726 to build, from which €7,785,735 were supported from the Portuguese state, and has an all-seater capacity of 28,263. Plans for improvement actually existed before the organization of the Euro 2004 was given to Portugal in 1999, and by then the first works were already underway. It was designed by Grupo3 arquitectura.



Other Links