Hapoel Jerusalem


User Rating

(0 users)

Next Event
Hapoel Jerusalem vs Hapoel Hadera Eran (20 Aug)

Head Coach
None Found...
Add new Player with 'Manager' position

League Position

Recent League Form ➡

1926 (96 years old)


Teddy Stadium
(34,000 Capacity)

Jersey or Equipment Clearart

Primary Colours

Jerusalem, Israel


Israeli Premier League

Last Edit
curswine: 13/Dec/21
Home / Sport / Soccer / Israeli Premier League / Hapoel Jerusalem

Upcoming Events
20 Aug 22 Hapoel Jerusalem  -  Hapoel Hadera
27 Aug 22 Hapoel Kiryat  -  Hapoel Jerusalem
03 Sep 22 Hapoel Jerusalem  -  FC Ashdod
10 Sep 22 Beitar Jerusalem  -  Hapoel Jerusalem
17 Sep 22 Hapoel Jerusalem  -  Maccabi Haifa

Latest Results
14 May 22 FC Ashdod  0 - 1  Hapoel Jerusalem
08 May 22 Hapoel Jerusalem  1 - 0  Maccabi Petach
30 Apr 22 Hapoel Haifa  0 - 2  Hapoel Jerusalem
23 Apr 22 Hapoel Jerusalem  0 - 1  Beitar Jerusalem
09 Apr 22 Hapoel Kiryat  2 - 1  Hapoel Jerusalem

Available in:

Hapoel Jerusalem Football Club (Hebrew: מועדון כדורגל הפועל ירושלים‎, Mo'adon Kadouregel Hapoel Yerushalayim) is an Israeli football club which existed from 1926 till 2019 and again since 2020 after Hapoel Katamon Jerusalem has been renamed. The club currently plays in Liga Leumit and is based at Teddy Stadium in Malha, Jerusalem. The Club has won the Cup title on 1973.

Hapoel Jerusalem Club was established in 1926 and played in the inaugural season of the EIFA league, playing the league's first match against local rivals Maccabi Hasmonean Jerusalem. The club played in the league for its first three seasons, however, the club was restricted to playing mainly in the Jerusalem area due to travelling difficulties. The club participated occasionally in the Palestine Cup, reaching the cup final in 1943, losing to a team from the Royal Artillery 1–7.

After the establishment of Israel, the club registered to play in the makeshift second tier league, Liga Meuhedet, in the Jerusalem-Central division, which the club won. The club continued to play in the second division (Liga Bet until 1956 and Liga Alef afterwards), until it was promoted to the top division at the end of the 1956–57 season, after finishing second in promotion play-offs. Following the promotion, the club stayed in the top division for 21 seasons, achieving its best position, 3rd, in 1972–73. In 1971–72 the club reached the State Cup final, losing to Hapoel Tel Aviv 0–1. A season later, the club reached the cup final again, this time winning the cup.

The club was relegated to the second division in 1979, but bounced back the following season. The club continued to yo-yo between the two top divisions in the following seasons, playing his last season at the top division in 1999–2000. In 1998, the club reached its fourth cup final, but lost to Maccabi Haifa in extra time.

In the early 1990s, the club was transferred to businessmen Yossi Sassi and Victor Yona. The two ran the team together until falling out, leading to a long business and legal dispute which lasted until 2009, when Yona left the club. During the dispute, a group of supporters, tired of the feuding between the two businessmen, decided to establish a group, first in an attempt to purchase control of the club, and then in a bid to establish a fan-owned club, Hapoel Katamon Jerusalem. The fan-based club was established in 2009 (after a short period of existence as a merged club with Hapoel Mevaseret Zion) and progressed to the Liga Leumit in 2013–14, where the two clubs met for the first time.

The club played in the third tier Liga Aleph after being relegated from the second tier Liga Leumit in the 2016–17. On 26 August 2019 the Israeli Football Federation refused to list the club for 2019–20 season due to financial problems.

On August 9, 2020 the club has been officially recreated, as Hapoel Katamon renamed to Hapoel Jerusalem.

Team Members
View: Thumbs Cutouts RendersSort: Positions Names Numbers

none found...
= Player Contract years remaining
= Player Statistics available latest season

Stadium or Home

Teddy Stadium (Hebrew: אצטדיון טדי‎) is a sports stadium in the Malha neighborhood of Jerusalem, Israel. Four football teams currently use the stadium: Beitar Jerusalem, Hapoel Jerusalem, and the Israel national football team for select home matches.

The stadium is named after long-time Jerusalem mayor Teddy Kollek, who was in office during the time of its construction and was one of its prominent advocates.




Other Links