100th Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade

Sun 29th May 2016 UTC
No local date found

00:00:00 UTC
No local time found



Square Poster

Recent Record
Click here to show

IndyCar Series




Indianapolis Motor Speedway
(0 Attendance)

Home / Sport / Motorsport / IndyCar Series / 2016 / 100th Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade

Video Highlights

Event Statistics

The 2016 Indianapolis 500 (known as the 100th Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil for sponsorship reasons) took place on Sunday, May 29, 2016, at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana. It is the premier event of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season. Rookie driver Alexander Rossi of Andretti Herta Autosport won the race. Two-time winner Juan Pablo Montoya entered the race as the defending champion.

The 2016 race marks a milestone as the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500. The race comes five years after the event's Centennial Era, a three-year long commemoration which celebrated the 100th anniversary of the opening of the circuit (1909), and the 100th anniversary of the first Indy 500 (1911). This will be the ninety-ninth scheduled 500-mile race of the canon, as the 1916 race was scheduled as a 300-mile race.

The month of May activities at the Speedway opened May 14 with the third annual Grand Prix of Indianapolis. Indianapolis 500 practice began on Monday, May 16. Time trials were held on May 21–22, with James Hinchcliffe winning the pole position. Carb Day, the traditional final practice session, and the annual Pit Stop Challenge, was held May 27.

Going into the race, Simon Pagenaud of Team Penske has mostly dominated the first five races of the 2016 IndyCar season. He finished second in the first two races (St. Petersburg and Phoenix), and won the next three races (Long Beach, Alabama, and the Grand Prix of Indianapolis) to take a significant lead in the championship points standings.

The most discussed issues in the weeks leading up the race involved the ongoing development of aero kit regulations, and the competitive balance between the two engine manufacturers (Chevrolet and Honda). After three major crashes in 2015, in which cars flipped over and became airborne, series officials attempted to address the situation by adding "dome skids" - aerodynamic devices affixed to the undertrays of the cars, designed to keep the cars on the ground during a crash. This rule change was met with some resistance, particularly from the Honda teams, after testing revealed them to be unsettling to the cars' handling. After practice opened, however, the issues appeared to be have been mostly resolved. None of the crashes that have occurred during practice or qualifying saw the respective cars flip over. With respect to the engine competition, Chevrolet entered the month having swept all five race wins and all five race pole positions. In addition, Chevrolet had noticeably outperformed Honda in the 2015 race, sweeping the top five spots in qualifying, as well as the top four positions on race day. After practice opened, however, Honda teams led the speed chart on three of the four days (one day was rained out), and also secured the pole position - Honda's first Indy 500 pole since 2011.

Early in the month of May, Speedway officials announced that the grandstand seating for the race had sold out. It marks the first sell-out since before 2003.

On May 25, Speedway officials announced that the race had reached a total sellout with all general admission tickets sold. In addition, it was announced that for the first time since 1950, the race would not be blacked out for the local audience.

None found...

Result List

Result Description
2 Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya W Team Penske Chevrolet
3 Brazil Hélio Castroneves W Team Penske Chevrolet
4 United States Buddy Lazier W Lazier Burns Racing Chevrolet
5 Canada James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda
6 United States J. R. Hildebrand Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
7 Russia Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda
8 United Kingdom Max Chilton R Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
9 New Zealand Scott Dixon W Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
10 Brazil Tony Kanaan W Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
11 France Sébastien Bourdais KVSH Racing Chevrolet
12 Australia Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet
14 Japan Takuma Sato A. J. Foyt Enterprises Honda
15 United States Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
16 United States Spencer Pigot R Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda
18 United States Conor Daly Dale Coyne Racing Honda
19 Colombia Gabby Chaves Dale Coyne Racing Honda
20 United States Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
21 United States Josef Newgarden Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
22 France Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Chevrolet
24 United States Sage Karam Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Chevrolet
25 United Kingdom Stefan Wilson R KVSH Racing Chevrolet
26 Colombia Carlos Muñoz Andretti Autosport Honda
27 United States Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda
28 United States Ryan Hunter-Reay W Andretti Autosport Honda
29 United States Townsend Bell Andretti Autosport Honda
35 Canada Alex Tagliani A. J. Foyt Enterprises Honda
41 United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth A. J. Foyt Enterprises Honda
42 United States Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
61 Australia Matthew Brabham R PIRTEK Team Murray Chevrolet
63 United Kingdom Pippa Mann Dale Coyne Racing Honda
77 Spain Oriol Servià Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda
88 United States Bryan Clauson Jonathan Byrd's Racing Honda
98 United States Alexander Rossi R Andretti Herta Autosport Honda

Popular Tweets



User Comments

No comments yet..

Other Event Name

Potential Filename

Download Metadata
Kodi NFO File