Paris ePrix



Formula E



Sat 20th May 2017

Paris Street Circuit
(0 Attendance)

Home / Motorsport / Formula E / 1617 / Paris ePrix

The 2017 Paris ePrix (formally the 2017 FIA Formula E Qatar Airways Paris ePrix) was a Formula E motor race held on 20 May 2017 at the Circuit des Invalides in the city's Les Invalides building complex before a crowd of 46,000 people. It was the sixth race of the 2016–17 Formula E season and the second running of the event. The 49-lap race was won by e.Dams-Renault driver Sébastien Buemi after starting from pole position. José María López finished second for the Virgin team and Mahindra driver Nick Heidfeld came in third.

Buemi won the pole position by recording the fastest time in qualifying and held off an attack by second-placed starter Jean-Éric Vergne to keep the lead at the beginning of the race. Buemi pulled away from Vergne but his advantage was reduced to nothing when a crash between championship rival Lucas di Grassi and António Félix da Costa on the 16th lap neutralised the event. All drivers, including Buemi, made their mandatory pit stops to switch into their second car. Buemi regained the lead three laps after the restart from Mike Conway when he made his own stop. Vergne crashed on lap 34 which caused the deployment of the safety car and Buemi fended off an attack by López at the restart four laps later. He held the lead for the remainder of the race to secure the victory. There were three lead changes among three different drivers during the course of the race.

It was Buemi's fifth victory of the season, his first in Paris, and the 11th of his career. The result meant Buemi extended his Drivers' Championship advantage to 43 points ahead of di Grassi with his teammate Nico Prost maintaining third position. Heidfeld's strong finish enabled him to gain two places to take over fourth position and Vergne's non-finish meant he fell to fifth. e.Dams-Renault consolidated their lead in the Teams' Championship to 75 points in front of the non-scoring Audi Sport ABT and Mahindra maintained third position with six races left in the season.

The Paris ePrix was confirmed as part of Formula E's 2016-17 series schedule in September 2016 by the FIA World Motor Sport Council. It was the sixth of twelve scheduled single-seater electric car races of the 2016-17 season, the second running of the event, and was held on 20 May 2017 at the Circuit des Invalides in the city's Les Invalides building complex. It was expected that the race would be attended by approximately 10,000 people. The Circuit des Invalides is 1.93 kilometres (1.20 mi) long and is composed of 14 turns. The event was contested by ten teams of two drivers each. The teams were e.Dams-Renault, Audi Sport ABT, Virgin, Dragon, Mahindra, Venturi, Andretti, Techeetah, NextEV and Jaguar.

Before the race e.Dams-Renault driver Sébastien Buemi led the Drivers' Championship with 104 points, fifteen ahead of his nearest rival Lucas di Grassi in second and a further 43 in front of third-placed Nico Prost. Jean-Éric Vergne was fourth with 40 points and Sam Bird stood in fifth place on 34 points. e.Dams-Renault were leading the Teams' Championship with 152 points; Audi Sport ABT were in second place on 115 points. Mahindra stood in third with 60 points, while Techeetah (45 points) and Virgin (44) contended for fourth position. e.Dams-Renault and Buemi had dominated the championship with di Grassi winning the Mexico City ePrix. Di Grassi, Bird and Vergne (twice) had all finished in second place and Mahindra teammates Nick Heidfeld (twice) and Felix Rosenqvist along with di Grassi and Bird had all achieved at least one third-place result.

Buemi, the pre-race favourite, stated that after winning the preceding Monaco ePrix one week prior, he entered the Paris event with more motivation to achieve another podium finish: "It's a special weekend for us with the team and I will do my best to continue our top form." José María López felt his team were due to secure a good finish following a poor performance in the previous race and said they had been preparing hard for the event and was looking forward to competing in Paris for the first time and expected to achieve a good points-scoring position. Heidfeld was seeking another podium finish to enable Mahindra to keep third place in the Teams' Championship but was wary of cold weather conditions which caused several cars to struggle with cold tyre temperatures in the previous year's race. Vergne felt his home event of Paris would be his "best race of the year" and praised the effort the city put in to stage the annual contest: "The Paris track is not the kind of track we have been to except for Hong Kong - really bumpy, narrow, difficult to drive - so we'll see how it goes."

There were two driver changes heading into the race. Loïc Duval (Dragon) and Maro Engel (Venturi) were unable to take part in Paris because they were committed to participating in the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters round at the EuroSpeedway Lausitz and were replaced by Toyota World Endurance Championship (WEC) driver Mike Conway and defending Formula V8 3.5 Series champion Tom Dillmann. Conway had previously tested for Dragon in the first season's pre-season testing session at Donington Park and returned to the sport the following season to drive for Venturi in the campaign's final seven races. He said he was "honoured" to drive for the team and was confident of achieving a good result in Paris. Dillmann had prior experience driving for Venturi with his participation in the Mexico City ePrix shakedown session in place of regular driver Stéphane Sarrazin who was attending the WEC pre-season test session at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza for Toyota. Formula Two driver Nyck de Vries had been considered for the role before Venturi elected to select Dillmann. The driver stated in a press release that he was "delighted" to take part in the event and expressed his desire to contest a full season of the series in the future.

Result List
1 9 Switzerland Sébastien Buemi e.Dams-Renault 49 59:41.125 1 281
2 37 Argentina José María López Virgin-Citröen 49 +0.707 3 18
3 23 Germany Nick Heidfeld Mahindra 49 +2.043 5 15
4 19 Sweden Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra 49 +2.621 6 12
5 8 France Nico Prost e.Dams-Renault 49 +3.521 9 10
6 27 Netherlands Robin Frijns Andretti-BMW 49 +7.9993 7 8
7 3 Brazil Nelson Piquet Jr. NextEV NIO 49 +32.420 11 6
8 5 France Tom Dillmann Venturi 49 +32.929 15 4
9 20 New Zealand Mitch Evans Jaguar 49 +33.369 8 2
10 4 France Stéphane Sarrazin Venturi 49 +34.051 20 1
11 33 Mexico Esteban Gutiérrez Techeetah-Renault 49 +36.0913 4
12 88 United Kingdom Oliver Turvey NextEV NIO 49 +40.0823 14
13 66 Germany Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT 48 Battery 16
14 6 United Kingdom Mike Conway Dragon-Penske 48 +1 Lap 10
15 47 United Kingdom Adam Carroll Jaguar 48 +1 Lap 19
16 2 United Kingdom Sam Bird Virgin-Citröen 47 +2 Laps 18 12
Ret 11 Brazil Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT 38 Crash 13
Ret 7 Belgium Jérôme d'Ambrosio Dragon-Penske 35 Mechanical 12
Ret 25 France Jean-Éric Vergne Techeetah-Renault 33 Accident 2
Ret 28 Portugal António Félix da Costa Andretti-BMW 18 Collision 17



Potential Filenames
Formula E 2017-05-20 Paris ePrix.mkv
Formula E 2017-05-20 Paris ePrix.avi
Formula E 2017-05-20 Paris ePrix.mp4