Singapore Grand Prix

Sun 17th September 2017 UTC
No local date found

00:00:00 UTC
No local time found



Recent Record

Formula 1



Marina Bay Street Circuit
(0 Attendance)

Home / Sport / Motorsport / Formula 1 / 2017 / Singapore Grand Prix

Video Highlights

The 2017 Singapore Grand Prix (formally known as the 2017 Formula 1 Singapore Airlines Singapore Grand Prix) was a Formula One motor race held on 17 September 2017 at the Marina Bay Street Circuit in Marina Bay, Singapore. It was the fourteenth round of the 2017 Formula One season, and marked the eighteenth running of the Singapore Grand Prix, the tenth time the race had been held at Marina Bay.

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton entered the round with a three-point lead over Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel in the World Drivers' Championship, with Valtteri Bottas third. In the Constructors' standings, Mercedes led Ferrari by 62 points, while Red Bull Racing were third.

The race was won by Mercedes's Lewis Hamilton who took the lead on the first lap following a significant collision between Sebastian Vettel, Max Verstappen and Kimi Räikkönen. Daniel Ricciardo finished second with Valtteri Bottas taking third. This result increased Hamilton's lead in the Drivers' Championship to 28 points and increased Mercedes's lead in the Constructors' standings to 102 points.

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo went fastest in first practice with a time of 1:42.489. He was followed by the Ferrari of Sebastian Vettel and his teammate Max Verstappen while championship leader Lewis Hamilton was only fourth fastest. Ricciardo was also quickest in second practice, followed by Verstappen and Hamilton.

Max Verstappen was quickest in both Q1 and Q2 as Red Bull seemed to have the advantage over Mercedes and Ferrari. However, Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel took pole in the final session with a lap time of 1.39.491, ahead of Verstappen and teammate Ricciardo. Championship leader Lewis Hamilton could only take fifth on the grid with teammate Bottas sixth.

Rainfall prior to the race start meant that the race would be the first night-time Grand Prix staged under wet conditions in Formula One history. Despite this, the race was started using the normal starting procedure as per 2017 rule changes. At the start, Räikkönen and Vettel squeezed the Red Bull of Verstappen who touched with Räikkönen as a result. This sent Räikkönen out of control and he hit left sidepod of his teammate Vettel's car, causing significant damage to both, and then also hit Verstappen's car again going into turn 1. This caused the immediate retirement of both Räikkönen and Verstappen, while Vettel was initially able to continue despite noticeable damage but soon spun due to the damage and subsequently retired. This marked the first occasion in Formula One history when both works Ferraris were eliminated on the opening lap. Alonso had also sustained damage as a result of the incident in turn 1 and eventually retired on lap 9. The collisions on the opening lap brought out a safety car that led the field until lap 4. At the restart Lewis Hamilton led, followed by Daniel Ricciardo and Nico Hülkenberg. Hamilton then was able to pull away and establish a comfortable lead over Ricciardo.

There were two further safety car periods over the course of the race. One on lap 11, after Daniil Kvyat crashed at turn 7, and one on lap 38 after Marcus Ericsson spun. Hamilton was again able to get away well at both restarts. Kevin Magnussen and Nico Hülkenberg would both retire later in the race with mechanical issues. Hamilton won the race from Ricciardo, and Valtteri Bottas took the final podium place. The drivers did not complete the scheduled race distance of 61 laps due to the 2-hour time limit being reached, so the chequered flag was shown on lap 58.

None found...

Result List

Result Description
1 44 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 58 2:03:23.544 5 25
2 3 Australia Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer 58 +4.507 3 18
3 77 Finland Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 58 +8.800 6 15
4 55 Spain Carlos Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso 58 +22.822 10 12
5 11 Mexico Sergio Pérez Force India-Mercedes 58 +25.359 12 10
6 30 United Kingdom Jolyon Palmer Renault 58 +27.259 11 8
7 2 Belgium Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren-Honda 58 +30.388 9 6
8 18 Canada Lance Stroll Williams-Mercedes 58 +41.696 18 4
9 8 France Romain Grosjean Haas-Ferrari 58 +43.282 15 2
10 31 France Esteban Ocon Force India-Mercedes 58 +44.795 14 1
11 19 Brazil Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 58 +46.536 17
12 94 Germany Pascal Wehrlein Sauber-Ferrari 56 +2 Laps 19
Ret 20 Denmark Kevin Magnussen Haas-Ferrari 50 Engine 16
Ret 27 Germany Nico Hülkenberg Renault 48 Oil leak 7
Ret 9 Sweden Marcus Ericsson Sauber-Ferrari 35 Accident 20
Ret 26 Russia Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 10 Accident 13
Ret 14 Spain Fernando Alonso McLaren-Honda 8 Collision damage 8
Ret 5 Germany Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 0 Collision 1
Ret 33 Netherlands Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer 0 Collision 2
Ret 7 Finland Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 0 Collision 4

Popular Tweets



User Comments

No comments yet..

Other Event Name

Potential Filenames