Formula E



2014 (4 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names

Home / Motorsport / Formula E


Upcoming Events
New York ePrix Race 1 (Saturday 14th July)
New York ePrix Race 2 (Sunday 15th July)

Latest Results
Zurich ePrix (Sunday 10th June)
Berlin ePrix (Saturday 19th May)
Paris ePrix (Saturday 28th April)
Rome ePrix (Saturday 14th April)
Punta del Este ePrix (Saturday 17th March)
Mexico City ePrix (Saturday 03rd March)
Santiago ePrix (Saturday 03rd February)
Marrakesh ePrix (Saturday 13th January)
Hong Kong ePrix Race 2 (Sunday 03rd December)
Hong Kong ePrix Race 1 (Saturday 02nd December)


Formula E, officially the FIA Formula E Championship, is a class of auto racing, sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA), intended to be the highest class of competition for one-make, single-seater, electrically powered racing cars. The series was conceived in 2012, and the inaugural championship started in Beijing on 13 September 2014.

For the first season, all teams were supplied an electric racing car built by Spark Racing Technology, called the Spark-Renault SRT 01E. The chassis was designed by Dallara, with an electric motor developed by McLaren (the same as that used in its P1 supercar), a battery system created by Williams Advanced Engineering and a Hewland five-speed gearbox. Michelin will be the official tyre supplier. For the first season, 42 electric cars have been ordered by the series, with four cars made available to each of the ten teams and two cars kept for testing purposes.

The Formula E championship is currently contested by 10 teams with 2 drivers each. Racing generally takes place on temporary city-center street circuits which are approximately 2 to 3.4 km (1.2 to 2.1 mi) long. Two exceptions are Berlin (airport circuit) and Mexico City (modified version of the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez race track).

For the second season the technical regulations have been changed to allow for new powertrain manufacturers. The manufacturers are able to build the electric motor, inverter, gearbox and cooling system. The chassis and battery stay the same. Eight manufacturers were selected to create powertrain technology for the 2015–16 season, with existing teams Andretti, Abt Sportsline, Venturi Automobiles, and Virgin Racing Engineering electing to build their own powertrain. In addition, Motomatica, NEXTEV TCR and Renault Sport will provide for customer teams.

1415 Season 1516 Season 1617 Season 1718 Season


Amlin Aguri

Andretti Au

Audi Sport

Dragon Raci


Mahindra Ra

NextEV Form

Trulli GP

Venturi Gra

Virgin Raci

Trophy Icon



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Youtube