British Basketball League



1987 (31 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names

Home / Basketball / British Basketball League


Upcoming Events
Glasgow Rocks - Leicester Riders (Thursday 22nd March)
London Lions - Surrey Scorchers (Friday 23rd March)
Newcastle Eagles - Leeds Force (Friday 23rd March)
Worcester Wolves - Sheffield Sharks (Friday 23rd March)
Bristol Flyers - Cheshire Phoenix (Saturday 24th March)
Surrey Scorchers - Newcastle Eagles (Sunday 25th March)
Manchester Giants - London Lions (Sunday 25th March)
Cheshire Phoenix - Plymouth Raiders (Sunday 25th March)
Sheffield Sharks - Bristol Flyers (Wednesday 28th March)
London Lions - Newcastle Eagles (Friday 30th March)

Latest Results
Leeds Force - Leicester Riders (Sunday 18th March)
Glasgow Rocks - Sheffield Sharks (Sunday 18th March)
Manchester Giants - Worcester Wolves (Sunday 18th March)
Leicester Riders - Cheshire Phoenix (Saturday 17th March)
Newcastle Eagles - Bristol Flyers (Friday 16th March)
Plymouth Raiders - Manchester Giants (Friday 16th March)
London Lions - Bristol Flyers (Sunday 11th March)
Glasgow Rocks - Plymouth Raiders (Sunday 11th March)
Cheshire Phoenix - Worcester Wolves (Sunday 11th March)
London Lions - Leicester Riders (Friday 09th March)


The British Basketball League, often abbreviated to the BBL, is the premier men's professional basketball league in the United Kingdom. The BBL runs two knockout competitions alongside the league Championship; the BBL Cup and the BBL Trophy, as well as the post-season Play-offs.

The BBL is not to be confused with the English Basketball League (EBL) or the Scottish Men's National League, which effectively form the second tier of British basketball. There is currently no promotion or relegation between the English and Scottish leagues and the BBL because of the franchise system in use in the BBL, although several clubs have been elected from the EBL in recent years.

Currently the League consists of 13 teams with representation from both England and Scotland. Member franchises of the BBL jointly own the league, and a chairman is elected by the teams to oversee league operations. The current chairman is Ed Percival and the head offices are located in Leicester, where the country's oldest team, the Leicester Riders is also based.

In 2012 the BBL, along with several other basketball governing bodies including England Basketball and basketballscotland, united to form the British Basketball Union, an organisation created to promote the commercial development of basketball within Great Britain. In partnership with England Basketball, the BBL launched a women's league in 2014, branded as the Women's British Basketball League (WBBL).

1415 Season 1718 Season


Bristol Flyers

Cheshire Phoenix

Glasgow Rocks

Leeds Force

Leicester Riders

London Lions

Manchester Giant

Newcastle Eagles

Plymouth Raiders

Sheffield Sharks

Surrey Scorchers

Worcester Wolves

Trophy Icon



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Youtube