Dutch Eredivisie



1956 (64 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names

Last Edit
Ovokx: 03 Aug 2019
Home / Soccer / Dutch Eredivisie


Upcoming Events
31 Jan 20 AZ Alkmaar  -  RKC Waalwijk
01 Feb 20 ADO Den Haag  -  Vitesse
01 Feb 20 Feyenoord  -  FC Emmen
01 Feb 20 FC Twente  -  Sparta
01 Feb 20 PEC Zwolle  -  FC Groningen
02 Feb 20 Willem II  -  SC Heracles Almel
02 Feb 20 Fortuna Sittard  -  SC Heerenveen
02 Feb 20 VVV-Venlo  -  FC Utrecht
02 Feb 20 Ajax  -  PSV Eindhoven
07 Feb 20 SC Heracles Almel  -  Fortuna Sittard

Latest Results
26 Jan 20 PSV Eindhoven 1 - 1  FC Twente
26 Jan 20 Willem II 0 - 0  PEC Zwolle
26 Jan 20 FC Groningen 2 - 1  Ajax
26 Jan 20 Vitesse 1 - 1  FC Emmen
25 Jan 20 Sparta 1 - 1  Fortuna Sittard
25 Jan 20 SC Heracles Almel 2 - 3  Feyenoord
25 Jan 20 RKC Waalwijk 1 - 2  VVV-Venlo
25 Jan 20 SC Heerenveen 1 - 2  AZ Alkmaar
24 Jan 20 FC Utrecht 4 - 0  ADO Den Haag
19 Jan 20 ADO Den Haag 2 - 0  RKC Waalwijk

Available in:

The Eredivisie ("Honor Division") is the highest echelon of professional football in the Netherlands. The league was founded in 1956, two years after the start of professional football in the Netherlands. At the end of the 2012–2013 season it was ranked the ninth best league in Europe by UEFA.

The top division consists of 18 clubs. Each club meets every other club twice during the season, once at home and once away. At the end of each season, the club at the bottom is automatically relegated to the second level of the Dutch league system, the Eerste Divisie (First Division). At the same time, the champion of the Eerste Divisie will be automatically promoted to the Eredivisie. The next two clubs from the bottom of the Eredivisie go to separate promotion/relegation play-offs. The play-offs are played in two groups. Each group has one Eredivisie club and three high-placed clubs from the Eerste Divisie. In both promotion/relegation play-off groups, each club plays a home-and-away series with the other clubs. The winner of each play-off group plays in the following season's Eredivisie, with the other teams going to the Eerste Divisie.

The winner of the Eredivisie claims the Dutch national championship. AFC Ajax has won most titles, 24 (33 national titles). PSV Eindhoven are next with 18 (21), and Feyenoord follow with 9. Since 1965, these three clubs have won all except for three titles (the 1981 and 2009 titles went to AZ and FC Twente won the 2010 title).

From 1990 to 1999, the official name of the league was PTT Telecompetitie (after the sponsor, PTT Telecom), which was changed to KPN Telecompetitie (because PTT Telecom changed its name to KPN Telecom in 1999) and to KPN Eredivisie in 2000. From 2002 to 2005, the league was called the Holland Casino Eredivisie. Since the 2005–06 season, the league has been sponsored by the Sponsorloterij (lottery), but for legal reasons its name could not be attached to the league (the Dutch government was against the name, because the Eredivisie would, after Holland Casino's sponsorship, yet again be sponsored by a company providing games of chance). On 8 August 2012 it was made public that the American-based Australian tycoon Rupert Murdoch had secured the rights to the Eredivisie for 12 years at the expense of 1 billion euros, beginning in the 2013/2014 season. Within this deal each Eredivisie club should receive over 4 million euros per year for the duration of the contract.


1213 Season

1314 Season

1415 Season

1516 Season

1617 Season

1718 Season

1819 Season

1920 Season


ADO Den Haag


AZ Alkmaar

FC Emmen

FC Groningen

FC Twente

FC Utrecht


Fortuna Sittard

PEC Zwolle

PSV Eindhoven

RKC Waalwijk

SC Heerenveen

SC Heracles Alm




Willem II

() Missing Artwork
(- 4) Missing 4 Players: Data and Artwork
() Team Complete

Trophy Icon



Other Links