Dutch Eredivisie



1956 (63 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names

Last Edit
Ovokx: 18 Aug 2018
Home / Soccer / Dutch Eredivisie


Upcoming Events
30 Mar 19 Willem II  -  Fortuna Sittard
30 Mar 19 ADO Den Haag  -  Vitesse
30 Mar 19 De Graafschap  -  SC Heracles Almel
30 Mar 19 AZ Alkmaar  -  FC Groningen
30 Mar 19 SC Heerenveen  -  Excelsior
31 Mar 19 NAC Breda  -  VVV-Venlo
31 Mar 19 FC Utrecht  -  Feyenoord
31 Mar 19 PEC Zwolle  -  FC Emmen
31 Mar 19 Ajax  -  PSV Eindhoven
02 Apr 19 Vitesse  -  AZ Alkmaar

Latest Results
17 Mar 19 Excelsior 0 - 2  PEC Zwolle
17 Mar 19 AZ Alkmaar 1 - 0  Ajax
17 Mar 19 FC Groningen 1 - 0  ADO Den Haag
17 Mar 19 VVV-Venlo 0 - 1  PSV Eindhoven
16 Mar 19 SC Heracles Almel 3 - 2  Vitesse
16 Mar 19 NAC Breda 0 - 4  FC Utrecht
16 Mar 19 Feyenoord 2 - 3  Willem II
16 Mar 19 SC Heerenveen 0 - 3  De Graafschap
15 Mar 19 Fortuna Sittard 3 - 1  FC Emmen
13 Mar 19 Ajax 2 - 1  PEC Zwolle

Available in:

The Eredivisie ("Honor Division") is the highest echelon of professional football in the Netherlands. The league was founded in 1956, two years after the start of professional football in the Netherlands. At the end of the 2012–2013 season it was ranked the ninth best league in Europe by UEFA.

The top division consists of 18 clubs. Each club meets every other club twice during the season, once at home and once away. At the end of each season, the club at the bottom is automatically relegated to the second level of the Dutch league system, the Eerste Divisie (First Division). At the same time, the champion of the Eerste Divisie will be automatically promoted to the Eredivisie. The next two clubs from the bottom of the Eredivisie go to separate promotion/relegation play-offs. The play-offs are played in two groups. Each group has one Eredivisie club and three high-placed clubs from the Eerste Divisie. In both promotion/relegation play-off groups, each club plays a home-and-away series with the other clubs. The winner of each play-off group plays in the following season's Eredivisie, with the other teams going to the Eerste Divisie.

The winner of the Eredivisie claims the Dutch national championship. AFC Ajax has won most titles, 24 (33 national titles). PSV Eindhoven are next with 18 (21), and Feyenoord follow with 9. Since 1965, these three clubs have won all except for three titles (the 1981 and 2009 titles went to AZ and FC Twente won the 2010 title).

From 1990 to 1999, the official name of the league was PTT Telecompetitie (after the sponsor, PTT Telecom), which was changed to KPN Telecompetitie (because PTT Telecom changed its name to KPN Telecom in 1999) and to KPN Eredivisie in 2000. From 2002 to 2005, the league was called the Holland Casino Eredivisie. Since the 2005–06 season, the league has been sponsored by the Sponsorloterij (lottery), but for legal reasons its name could not be attached to the league (the Dutch government was against the name, because the Eredivisie would, after Holland Casino's sponsorship, yet again be sponsored by a company providing games of chance). On 8 August 2012 it was made public that the American-based Australian tycoon Rupert Murdoch had secured the rights to the Eredivisie for 12 years at the expense of 1 billion euros, beginning in the 2013/2014 season. Within this deal each Eredivisie club should receive over 4 million euros per year for the duration of the contract.

1213 Season 1314 Season 1415 Season 1516 Season 1617 Season 1718 Season 1819 Season


ADO Den Haa


AZ Alkmaar

De Graafsch


FC Emmen

FC Groninge

FC Utrecht


Fortuna Sit

NAC Breda

PEC Zwolle

PSV Eindhoven

SC Heerenve

SC Heracles



Willem II

() Missing Artwork
(- 4) Missing 4 Players: Data and Artwork
() Team Complete

Trophy Icon



Other Links