American Major League Soccer



1993 (27 years old)

First Recorded Event

Current Season




Alternate Names
Major League Soccer

Last Edit
Ovokx: 10 May 2019
Home / Sport / Soccer / American Major League Soccer


Upcoming Events
04 Apr 20 DC United  -  New York City
04 Apr 20 Nashville SC  -  Seattle Sounder
04 Apr 20 Chicago Fire  -  New York Red Bu
04 Apr 20 Orlando City  -  Montreal Impact
04 Apr 20 FC Dallas  -  Los Angeles FC
04 Apr 20 Columbus Crew  -  Toronto FC
05 Apr 20 New England Rev  -  Colorado Rapids
05 Apr 20 Minnesota Unite  -  San Jose Earthq
05 Apr 20 Houston Dynamo  -  Portland Timber
05 Apr 20 Vancouver White  -  Real Salt Lake

Latest Results
29 Mar 20 Portland Timber P - P  Philadelphia Un
29 Mar 20 Sporting Kansas P - P  Real Salt Lake
28 Mar 20 New York Red Bu P - P  Orlando City
23 Mar 20 Los Angeles FC P - P  Portland Timber
22 Mar 20 L.A. Galaxy P - P  Orlando City
22 Mar 20 Philadelphia Un P - P  DC United
22 Mar 20 Seattle Sounder P - P  FC Dallas
22 Mar 20 San Jose Earthq P - P  Sporting Kansas
22 Mar 20 Colorado Rapids P - P  Houston Dynamo
22 Mar 20 Real Salt Lake P - P  New England Rev

Available in:

Major League Soccer (MLS) is a professional soccer league representing the sport's highest level in both the United States and Canada. MLS constitutes one of the major professional sports leagues of the United States and Canada. The league is composed of 20 teams—17 in the U.S. and 3 in Canada. The MLS regular season runs from March to October, with each team playing 34 games; the team with the best record is awarded the Supporters' Shield. The post season includes twelve teams competing in the MLS Cup Playoffs through November and December, culminating in the championship game, the MLS Cup. MLS teams also play in other competitions against teams from other divisions and countries, such as the U.S. Open Cup, the Canadian Championship, and the CONCACAF Champions League. MLS is sanctioned by the United States Soccer Federation (U.S. Soccer).

Major League Soccer was founded in 1993 as part of the United States' successful bid to host the 1994 FIFA World Cup. The first season took place in 1996 with ten teams. MLS experienced financial and operational struggles in its first few years: The league lost millions of dollars, teams played in mostly empty American football stadiums, and two teams folded in 2002. Since then, MLS has expanded to 20 teams, owners built soccer-specific stadiums, average attendance at MLS matches exceeds that of the National Basketball Association (NBA) and the National Hockey League (NHL), MLS secured national TV contracts, and the league is now profitable.

Instead of operating as an association of independently owned teams, MLS is a single entity in which each team is owned and controlled by the league's investors. The investor-operators control their teams as owners control teams in other leagues, and are commonly (but inaccurately) referred to as the team's owners. The league's closed membership makes it one of the world's few soccer leagues that does not use promotion and relegation, which is uncommon in North America. MLS headquarters are in New York City.


1314 Season

1415 Season

1516 Season

1617 Season

1718 Season

1819 Season

1920 Season

2020 Season


Atlanta United

Chicago Fire

Colorado Rapids

Columbus Crew

DC United

FC Cincinnati

FC Dallas

Houston Dynamo

Inter Miami

L.A. Galaxy

Los Angeles FC

Minnesota United

Montreal Impact

Nashville SC

New England Rev.

New York City

New York Red Bull

Orlando City

Philadelphia Unio

Portland Timbers

Real Salt Lake

San Jose Earthqua

Seattle Sounders

Sporting Kansas C

Toronto FC

Vancouver Whiteca

() Missing Artwork
(- 4) Missing 4 Players: Data and Artwork
() Team Complete

Trophy Icon



Other Links