1917 (102 years old)

First Recorded Event

Ice Hockey



Alternate Names
National Hockey League

Last Edit
mmmmmtasty: 12 Sep 2015
Home / Ice Hockey / NHL


Upcoming Events
17 Feb 19 Washington Capita  -  Anaheim Ducks
17 Feb 19 Philadelphia Flye  -  Detroit Red Wings
17 Feb 19 Montreal Canadien  -  Florida Panthers
17 Feb 19 St. Louis Blues  -  Minnesota Wild
17 Feb 19 Buffalo Sabres  -  New Jersey Devils
17 Feb 19 New York Rangers  -  Pittsburgh Pengui
18 Feb 19 Tampa Bay Lightni  -  Columbus Blue Jac
18 Feb 19 Arizona Coyotes  -  Calgary Flames
18 Feb 19 Ottawa Senators  -  Chicago Blackhawk
18 Feb 19 Vegas Golden Knig  -  Colorado Avalanch

Latest Results
16 Feb 19 Ottawa Senators  -  Winnipeg Jets
16 Feb 19 Nashville Predato  -  Vegas Golden Knig
16 Feb 19 Montreal Canadien  -  Tampa Bay Lightni
16 Feb 19 Vancouver Canucks  -  San Jose Sharks
16 Feb 19 Calgary Flames  -  Pittsburgh Pengui
16 Feb 19 Detroit Red Wings  -  Philadelphia Flye
16 Feb 19 Edmonton Oilers  -  New York Islander
16 Feb 19 Boston Bruins  -  Los Angeles Kings
16 Feb 19 St. Louis Blues  -  Colorado Avalanch
16 Feb 19 Columbus Blue Jac  -  Chicago Blackhawk

Available in:

The National Hockey League (NHL; French: Ligue nationale de hockey—LNH) is a professional ice hockey league composed of 30 member clubs: 23 in the United States and 7 in Canada. Headquartered in New York City, the NHL is widely considered to be the premier professional ice hockey league in the world, and one of the major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada. The Stanley Cup, the oldest professional sports trophy in North America, is awarded annually to the league playoff champion at the end of each season.

The National Hockey League was organized on November 26, 1917, in Montreal, Quebec, after the suspension of operations of its predecessor organization, the National Hockey Association (NHA), which had been founded in 1909 in Renfrew Ontario. It started with four teams (all based in Canada) and, through a series of expansions, contractions, and relocations, is now composed of thirty active franchises. The "nation" referred to by the league's name was Canada, although the league has now been binational since 1924 when its first team in the United States, the Boston Bruins, began play. After a labour-management dispute that led to the cancellation of the entire 2004–05 season, the league resumed play under a new collective agreement that included a salary cap. In 2009, the NHL enjoyed record highs in terms of sponsorships, attendance, and television audiences.

The league draws many highly skilled players from all over the world and currently has players from approximately 20 different countries. Canadians have historically constituted the majority of the players in the league, with a dramatically increasing percentage of American and European players in recent years.

1415 Season 1516 Season 1617 Season 1718 Season 1819 Season


Anaheim Ducks

Arizona Coyote

Boston Brui

Buffalo Sab

Calgary Flames

Carolina Hurri

Chicago Blackh

Colorado Av

Columbus Blue

Dallas Star

Detroit Red

Edmonton Oi

Florida Panthe

Los Angeles

Minnesota W

Montreal Ca

Nashville Pred

New Jersey

New York Is

New York Ra

Ottawa Senator


Pittsburgh Pen

San Jose Sh

St. Louis Blue

Tampa Bay L

Toronto Map

Vancouver C

Vegas Golde

Washington Cap

Winnipeg Je

() Missing Artwork
(- 4) Missing 4 Players: Data and Artwork
() Team Complete

Trophy Icon



Other Links