NASCAR Sprint Cup Series



1949 (70 years old)

First Recorded Event




Alternate Names
NASCAR Winston Cup Series

Last Edit
Bread: 31 May 2019
Home / Motorsport / NASCAR Sprint Cup Series


Upcoming Events
Hollywood Casino 400 (20 Oct 2019)
First Data 500 (27 Oct 2019)
AAA Texas 500 (03 Nov 2019)
Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series at ISM Raceway (10 Nov 2019)
Ford EcoBoost 400 (17 Nov 2019)

Latest Results 500 (13 Oct 2019)
Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series at Dover (06 Oct 2019)
Bank of America ROVAL 400 (29 Sep 2019)
Federated Auto Parts 400 (21 Sep 2019)
South Point 400 (15 Sep 2019)
Big Machine Vodka 400 at the Brickyard (08 Sep 2019)
Bojangles’ Southern 500 (01 Sep 2019)
Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race (17 Aug 2019)
Consumers Energy 400 (11 Aug 2019)
GoBowling at The Glen (04 Aug 2019)

Available in:

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (often shortened to Sprint Cup or the Cup Series) is the top racing series of the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR). The series is named for its current sponsor, the Sprint Corporation, and has been known by other names in the past. It was originally known as the Strictly Stock Series (1949) and shortly became the Grand National Series (1950–1970). While leasing its naming rights to R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Company, it was known as the Winston Cup Series (1971–2003). A similar deal was made with NEXTEL in 2003, becoming the NEXTEL Cup Series (2004–2007) and it became the Sprint Cup after Sprint acquired NEXTEL in 2005. The name "Sprint" refers specifically to the subsidiary of Japanese telecommunications company SoftBank which is the entitlement sponsor; sprint car racing is a separate racing discipline.

The drivers' champion is determined by a point system where points are given according to finishing placement and laps led. The season is divided into two segments. After the first 26 races, 16 drivers, selected primarily on the basis of wins during the first 26 races, are seeded based on their total number of wins and compete in the last 10 races with the difference in points greatly minimized. This is called the Chase for the Championship.

The series holds strong roots in the Southeastern United States with half of its 36-race season in that region. The current schedule includes tracks from around the United States. Regular season races were previously held in Canada, and exhibition races were held in Japan and Australia. The Daytona 500, its most prestigious race, had a television audience in the U.S. of about 16 million viewers in 2009.

Sprint Cup Series cars are unique in automobile racing. The engines are powerful enough to reach speeds over 200 mph (320 km/h), but high weight – coupled with a (relatively) simple aerodynamic package – makes for poor handling. Their bodies and chassis are strictly regulated to ensure parity, and electronics are generally spartan in nature.


1990 Season

2009 Season

2010 Season

2011 Season

2012 Season

2013 Season

2014 Season

2015 Season

2016 Season

2017 Season

2018 Season

2019 Season


Chip Ganassi NASC

Front Row Motorsp

Germain Racing

Go FAS Racing

Hendrick Motorspo

Jay Robinson Raci

Joe Gibbs Racing

JTG Daugherty R

Leavine Family

Richard Childre

Richard Petty M

Rick Ware Racin

Roush Fenway Ra

Spire Sports

Starcom Racing

Stewart-Haas Ra

Team Penske NAS

Wood Brothers R

() Missing Artwork
(- 4) Missing 4 Players: Data and Artwork
() Team Complete

Trophy Icon



Other Links