Go Ahead Eagles


User Rating

(0 users)

Next Event

Head Coach
None Found...
Add new Player with 'Manager' position

Recent Form
  L      L      L      L      L    

1902 (117 years old)


(10,400 Capacity)

Jersey Clearart

Deventer, Holland


_No League

Last Edit
smudgie: 22/Jan/19
Home / Soccer / _No League / Go Ahead Eagles

Upcoming Events
None Found...

Latest Results
14 May 17 Go Ahead  1 - 3  Sparta
07 May 17 Ajax  4 - 0  Go Ahead
22 Apr 17 Go Ahead  2 - 3  FC Groningen
16 Apr 17 Willem II  2 - 0  Go Ahead
08 Apr 17 Go Ahead  1 - 4  SC Heracles

Available in:

The Go Ahead Eagles are a football club from Deventer, The Netherlands, as of 2015 playing in the Eredivisie. The club's home stadium is De Adelaarshorst. The club won the national championship in 1917, 1922, 1930 and 1933. They have produced a number of notable players, such as Bart Verheul, Raimond van der Gouw, René Eijkelkamp, Marc Overmars, Paul Bosvelt, Jan Kromkamp, Victor Sikora, Bert van Marwijk and Demy de Zeeuw, whilst providing Henk ten Cate and Leo Beenhakker with their first tastes of management.
The club was founded in 1902 as Be Quick, by the brothers 'Hollander'.The name was soon changed to Go Ahead at the request of the Dutch Football Association. The suffix Eagles was added in 1971, following a suggestion from the then coach, Barry Hughes. The eagle is the charge in the coat of arms of the city of Deventer. After almost two decades in the second division, Go Ahead won promotion to the Eredivisie at the end of the 2012–13 season, winning the promotion play-offs. The club will remain in the top division for the 2014–15 season having finished thirteenth in the 2013-14 Eredivisie.
The Go Ahead Eagles were famously the only side to defeat Ajax in any competition during the 1971–72 season, when they beat Ajax 3–2 at De Adelaarshorst in the Eredivisie. They have played in the Europacup II once, in the 1965–66 season. They lost in the first round to Celtic.
Go Ahead Eagles biggest rivals are PEC Zwolle. Both clubs are located at the river IJssel, hence the name IJssel-derby. In the early years Go Ahead was the best club in the region but since the relegation to the Dutch First Division in 1987, Zwolle has won most derbies.

Team Members

Mawouna Amevor

Thomas Azevedo

Nick de Bondt

Gino Bosz

Erik Cummins

Chris David

Tije ten Den

Sander Duits

Omar Kavak

Marnix Kolder

Joost Krijns

Lars Lambooij

Fernando Lewis

Jop van der Linde

Ruben Lucas

Patrick ter Mate

Robin van der Mee

Sven Nieuwpoort

Peter van Ooijen

Tom Oostinjen

Sjoerd Overgoor

Guyon Philips

Puck Postma

Joran Pot

Jules Reimerink

Jeffrey Rijsdijk

Jordy Rondeel

Maurice de Ruiter

Lesley de Sa

Alex Schalk

Xandro Schenk

Joeri Schroyen

Kevin Spanjaard

Deniz Turuc

Bart Vriends

Giliano Wijnaldum

= Contract years remaining

Stadium or Home

De Adelaarshorst is a multi-use stadium in Deventer, Netherlands. It is currently used mostly for football matches and is the home stadium of Go Ahead Eagles. The stadium is able to hold 7,938 people and was built in 1920.

The stadium hosted a qualifying match for the 1974 FIFA World Cup between the Netherlands and Iceland (who were nominally hosting the match). The Dutch won the game 8-1.



Other Links