North Carolina


User Rating

(1 users)

Next Event
Wake Forest vs North Carolina (23 Jan)

Head Coach
None Found...
Add new Player with 'Manager' position

League Position

Recent League Form ➡

1910 (112 years old)


Dean Smith Center
(21,750 Capacity)

Jersey or Equipment Clearart

Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA

Tar Heels

NCAA Division I Basketball Mens

Last Edit
jrhessey: 01/May/20
Home / Sport / Basketball / NCAA Division I Basketball Mens / North Carolina

Upcoming Events
23 Jan 22 Wake Forest  -  North Carolina
25 Jan 22 North Carolina  -  Virginia Tech
27 Jan 22 North Carolina  -  Boston College
29 Jan 22 North Carolina  -  North Carolina
02 Feb 22 Louisville  -  North Carolina

Latest Results
19 Jan 22 Miami  85 - 57  North Carolina
16 Jan 22 North Carolina  88 - 65  Georgia Tech
08 Jan 22 North Carolina  74 - 58  Virginia
06 Jan 22 Notre Dame  78 - 73  North Carolina
02 Jan 22 Boston College  65 - 91  North Carolina

Available in:

The North Carolina Tar Heels men's basketball program is the intercollegiate men's basketball team of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Tar Heels have won seven Men's Basketball National Championships (1924, 1957, 1982, 1993, 2005, 2009, and 2017). North Carolina's six NCAA Tournament Championships are third-most all-time, behind University of California, Los Angeles (11) and University of Kentucky (8). They have also won 18 Atlantic Coast Conference tournament titles, 32 Atlantic Coast Conference regular season titles, and an Atlantic Coast Conference record 20 outright Regular Season Championships. The program has produced many notable players who went on to play in the NBA, including three of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA History: Billy Cunningham, Michael Jordan and James Worthy. Many Tar Heel assistant coaches have gone on to become head coaches elsewhere.

From the Tar Heels' first season in 1910–11 through the 2018–19 season, the program has amassed a .739 all-time winning percentage (second highest all-time), winning 2,261 games and losing 799 games in 109 seasons. The Tar Heels also have the most consecutive 20-win seasons with 31 seasons from the 1970–71 season through the 2000–2001 season. On March 2, 2010, North Carolina became the second college basketball program to reach 2,000 wins in its history. The Tar Heels are currently ranked 3rd all time in wins trailing Kentucky by 34 games and Kansas by 13 games. The Tar Heels are one of only four Division I Men's Basketball programs to have ever achieved 2,000 victories. Kentucky, Kansas, and Duke are the other three. North Carolina has averaged more wins per season played than any other program in college basketball.

Carolina has played 160 games in the NCAA tournament. The Tar Heels have appeared in the NCAA Tournament Championship Game 11 times, and have been in a record 20 NCAA Tournament Final Fours. The Tar Heels have made it into the NCAA tournament 50 times (second-most all-time), and have amassed 126 victories (second most all-time).

Team Members
View: Thumbs Cutouts RendersSort: Positions Names Numbers

none found...
= Player Contract years remaining
= Player Statistics available latest season

Stadium or Home

The Dean E. Smith Student Activities Center (commonly known as the Dean Smith Center, Smith Center, or the Dean Dome) is a multi-purpose arena in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, used primarily as the home for the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Tar Heels men's basketball team. The university began to inquire about building a standalone arena for the men's basketball team beginning in the mid-1970s, but due to an ongoing university wide investigation, the fundraiser halted until its conclusion. On June 1980, the fundraising began with a goal of at least $30 million and a target completion date for the building of December 1984. It was initially planned to be called the Student Activities Center; however, after its announcement it began to be referred to as The Dean Dome and it was speculated it would be named for then coach Dean Smith. The fundraising concluded in August 1984 with over $33 million raised, but construction would not finished until 1986. The day before the opening game on January 18, 1986 against the Duke Blue Devils, the building was officially announced to be named the Dean E. Smith Student Activities Center, while a formal dedication happen later in September. In 2018, the hardwood floor of the Smith Center was named for then coach Roy Williams.



Other Links