1897 (122 years old)

First Recorded Event

Australian football



Alternate Names
Australian rules football

Last Edit
Ovokx: 05 May 2018
Home / Australian football / AFL


Upcoming Events
None Found...
28 Apr Greater Western S 77 - 43  Brisbane Lions Sydney Showground
28 Apr North Melbourne F 69 - 102  Port Adelaide Foo Docklands Stadium
28 Apr Geelong Football  69 - 86  Sydney Swans Kardinia Park
27 Apr Western Bulldogs 80 - 59  Carlton Football Melbourne Cricket
25 Apr Collingwood Footb 101 - 52  Essendon Football MCG
24 Apr Melbourne Footbal 56 - 102  Richmond Football Melbourne Cricket
22 Apr Brisbane Lions 71 - 76  Gold Coast Footba The Gabba
22 Apr North Melbourne F 98 - 70  Hawthorn Football Docklands Stadium
21 Apr Fremantle Footbal 108 - 54  Western Bulldogs Subiaco Oval
21 Apr Port Adelaide Foo 50 - 84  Geelong Football Adelaide Oval


The Australian Football League (AFL) is the pre-eminent professional competition in the sport of Australian rules football. Through the AFL Commission, the AFL also serves as the sport's governing body, and is responsible for controlling the laws of the game. The league was founded as the Victorian Football League (VFL) as a breakaway from the previous Victorian Football Association (VFA), with its inaugural season commencing in 1897. Originally comprising only teams based in the Australian state of Victoria, the competition's name was changed to the Australian Football League for the 1990 season, after expanding to other states throughout the 1980s.

The league currently consists of 18 teams spread over five of Australia's six states (Tasmania being the exception). Matches have been played in all mainland states and territories of Australia, as well as in New Zealand. The AFL season currently consists of a pre-season competition (currently branded as the "NAB Challenge"), followed by a 23-round regular (or "home-and-away") season, which runs during the Australian winter (March to September). The top eight teams then play off in a four-round finals series, culminating in the AFL Grand Final, which is held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground each year. The winning team in the Grand Final is termed the "premiers", and is awarded the premiership cup. The current premiers are the Western Bulldogs.

1998 Season 2009 Season 2010 Season 2011 Season 2012 Season 2013 Season 2014 Season 2015 Season 2016 Season 2017 Season 2018 Season


Adelaide Fo

Brisbane Li

Carlton Foo


Essendon Fo

Fremantle F

Geelong Foo

Gold Coast

Greater Wes

Hawthorn Fo

Melbourne F

North Melbo

Port Adelai

Richmond Fo

St Kilda Fo

Sydney Swan

West Coast

Western Bul

() Missing Artwork
(- 4) Missing 4 Players: Data and Artwork
() Team Complete

Trophy Icon



Other Links
Facebook Twitter Website Youtube